STEEMIT TIPS: Bake a pie for your neighbors! (@crimsonclad heavy metal show is Thursday on mspwaves.com)

in #steemittips7 years ago (edited)

Generally in the United States there is a tradition of gifting pies for new neighbors, but the tradition doesn't work the same way everywhere. In particular in the MidWest it is frequent that the neighbors in the neighborhood will bake you a pie and welcome you to the neighborhood. In New England the tradition is more likely that you bake a pie and give it to your neighbors.

I'm not entirely sure why there are the differences... I think the midwest may be more hungry for growth and so they welcome people into their community with open arms and try to keep the people that come. New England is already fairly dense by American standards and so we're kind happy if people just gtfo, but if they come bearing pies maybe we'll love them.

Which kind of place is Steemit?

Tough news for newbies... you gotta bake the pie. You have to bring it to your neighbor, and you have to earn their trust and love. Steemit wants growth, but Steemians don't really want a bunch of spammy fucks begging for upvotes and follows either. We want contributors that will make the network better, stronger, more robust, and offer more things to more people. We don't want a million handouts... So, if you're going to come here, and you want to get noticed you have to bake a pie.

But Aggroed, this is a digital space. I can't bake a pie

No, you can't, but that doesn't mean you can't approach people with a gift or offering. So, rather than starting with a "Hey, will you follow me?" Why don't you start with a "Hey, look what I can do for you?"

2 recent examples

@diego messages me on steemit.chat. Most of the time when new people message me it's not the message I want. No I dont' want to follow you. No I don't need another lion picture article. No, I don't want to upvote your contest. No I don't.... blah blah blah.

ok, but this kid comes and says, "Hey, I'm new here, and I make EDM music, I'd like to share it with this community, can you help introduce me to it?" I don't know how he got my name. I dont' know how he knows I like EDM, but here we are. Rather than ignoring him or telling him to get off my lawn I resteemed his intro. I told him to make me some Dubstep, and offered him an MSP waves radio DJ spot. We could use someone on the 1s and 2s so to speak. We'll see where it goes. But he says he offers EDM pies, and that was close enough for me as a minnow lover.

Example 2

@andren just made me a cover art. I hadn't had one before. Now I do. Now I'm introducing this graphic artist to nearly 5,000 people who will hopefully follow him, possibly ask him for art, and help him build a community. He offered me a pie. I resteemed his stuff. That's how this community can work. It cost him a bit of time to make me a cover art. It cost me over a year to build a community that I have, but at this point it's free to talk about him and get him exposure for his work.

Quid Pro Quo? Equivalent Exchange? Pie for Pie? IDK what you wanna call it. But that's just good business. He gets an audience and I get a banner.

Moral of the story

If you're the little guy on here, and you want to make a name for yourself or build a community. Make people pies.

MSP Waves

Quick plug for @crimsonclad. She had the highest attended show last week with her heavy metal business FULL FORCE THURSDAY. Should be a stellar showing again tonight. You won't want to miss it.

Delegation request

Day one we got around 16-17k in Delegations on @minnowsupport. We're driving for another 84k or so. Please consider delegating just a few thousand SP if you have it. We are basically a volunteer army helping to train and retain minnows on the platform. If you think that's a service worth having than please delegate to @minnowsupport.

https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@discordiant/delegation-tutorial-minnow-support-group-bots

Sort:  

Awesome tip on way to get noticed not only in steemit but in anything you are doing in this world : business, politics, community et al ...people that strategically bake and send high quality pie always get the gig . Thanks hence why you always get my upvote.

Thank you for what you do :)
Minnows need support now more than ever it seems. Unfortunately, as I see it , things change at a very fast pace and not for the best imo .

Great! This is really a wonderful post. We can't just be about receiving from the community, we should also give to it. Nice post. I like! Thanks for sharing

I like that pie analogy. I guess I should go to the shop and pick up some ingredients, haha.

So the EMD guy is awesome. I saw that you resteemed his intro and checked him out. I too love EDM music and am very excited for his show on the radio. I am glad he found you and I found him. It is moments like these that make a large community feel a little smaller. You never know who may be watching and reach out at the right time with the right intention.

MUH KUBBY!!!! I luvs me some Kubby Brewster!!! Kubby. Send me a post that you write that's link brand spanking new. I owe you a few resteems at least.

Ello ❤️ :) How about you help me say thank you to my friend? This very generously friend paid for my steemit t-shirts. Yes, you read that correctly he bought me two! If you could spread some love on his page for me that would be great! PS: you never owe me as long as you keep making our minnow world a better place. :D

Friends link below 🤗😉
https://steemit.com/whalepower/@underground/let-s-celebrate-one-of-our-own-stitchy-mod-babe-discord-d

Dishing out the sage advice and truth bombs as per usual @aggroed.

I wish I had a pie right now. I would totally share it with you.

W/e, like I'd eat your pie. Last time we tangled in a fictious story I believe I was left half seduced, totally unconscious, and with some giant blue balls. Your pie will go untasted!!! Not even nip slip for my sorry efforts. Though it was cool being a demi god and all.

Lol. I'll see what I can do in the upcoming Masters of the Universe challenge. Not sure when it's kicking off though, so you'll have to wait.

In the meantime, I'm sure some nymph wandered through the forest not long after your roofying and relieved you of your blue balls 😋

What a lovely story :)

Pies are delicious , they make everyone happy and that is what I'll do , make pies for everyone little and big now

pie.png

Nice work. Even has some Rick and Morty lips going!

Ty (tho had to google Rick and Morty). And no worries...was for show only. I dont share my pie. Cake and cookies? Sure.... Pie? Pha...forget it. MY pie.

I love the analogy of baking a pie... We always used to send over cookies when I was a kid to neighbors. Following and building our community is important... It's not just a matter of clicking as many people as we can, it's about making Steemit bullet proof with original content and showing social media how it should be.. Thanks for all you do. ❤

That and building community and relationships. A lot of whales talk about wanting awesome content. I want that too, but I also want awesome people. Gotta tend to both.

Yes, we do, my friend.

Wow I love the practices u have other there welcoming people or just sharing to ur neighbours a pie , I barely even know mine wish this practice was more common around the world so it would spread the love .
Completely agree with lesson taken from ur article ! Everyone wants to be noticed but it should happen when u are offering something that they will love .

And I think it is important not to just make one big pie and think you are done, this is not a bake-once-and-forget. :)
Keep feeding smaller follow-up pies and you will soon have a whole range a meaningful relationships.
Thanks Aggroed!

Wait - today is Wednesday, isn't it? Is @crimsonclad's show on Wed or Thursday?

Throws pie at @aggroed's front door*

Not again!

At least it wasn't a flaming bag of poo this time...

Thanks for the tip! Will have a look to your future post, good continuation

Beep beep. Hi @permatek!
You have used tip! in your comment - that`s my magic word for sending tips ;)
Click here if you wish to learn more!

Great advice @aggroed! And I agree, be creative to get noticed. Nothing more annoying than begging for upvotes or follows.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Aug 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $18.57 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 23 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I have hot pies coming your way, always be there so you don't miss out. Great content and I sure know from this moment we all will get great recipe for a delicious pie.

Hello, I'm Venezuelan and I'm new to stemit. Very good article. Can you give me your vote?

Thank you very much @aggroed I appreciate this so much :)