STEEMIT ULTIMATE CHALLENGE 8 WEEKS (WEEK 4)

in #steemitultimatechallenge6 years ago (edited)

Firstly I'd like to thank @dobartim for this excellent contest aimed at changing lives. God will reward your kindness. Also I'd like to congratulate the past winners and I hope I'll join the train this time.

Last week I thought I had nailed it until the result was announced and I fell short again for the 3rd week, I felt very depressed and scared, why was I scared? I've always been told I'll amount to nothing by the people closest to me and I thought this time they might be right because I had given it my all.
But @dobartim commented on my congratulatory comment to last week's winner and said "Put whole life in the next post..." I wonder how he knew I kept something out due to the emotional stress I get talking about it, a part of me I only shared with the closest to me, a part of me I've never shared without tears running through my eyes, I've always hidden it but not anymore, I'm pouring it whole out just as your have asked me to @dobartim, hopefully this will be the last time I'll say it with tears and I pray @dobartim will help me change these tears of sorrow to tears of joy.
U5drTCsZZfa6LqXDhzs5zmQ3YaokjaL_1680x8400.jpeg

My name is Fabian Emmanuel Edet, I'm a Nigerian, from Cross River state, currently living in Lagos city the busiest city in Nigeria, I'd like to think I'm an entrepreneur, a coach and public speaker, a drummer, currently completed a sound management program, an alumnus of Enactus(a world renown entrepreneurial development group poised to changing lives through entrepreneurial actions).

Growing up as a child wasn't a pleasant experience as I grew up with my step mom, my mother wasn't legitimately married to my dad hence she couldn't live with us, my step mom would maltreat me even in the presence of my father and he'd say nothing about it. I grew up not knowing what love is and how to show it.
I got into the university, just when I thought I had escaped the hard life in my home, it only became harder, I went through school without any financial support from dad or step mom, the little money my mum(biological) could give me wasn't enough to transport myself to school, less I talk about feeding etc. I had to struggle while in school to add to what I was given, then in my 2nd year, it all crashed on me when my mum died.

I'd cry endlessly, nights would pass while I cried, my only source of survival was taken from me. But I knew I couldn't quit school so I persevered

My friends would jokingly tell me during the holidays "won't you go home, have your parents disowned you or you them"? We will all laugh about it but deep in me I had no home to go back to, a home where I was not welcomed.

I celebrated most of my Christmas alone in the quiet compound where I lived because almost every student would have returned home, but I couldn't bare the physiological and emotional trauma my home brought me, so I'd stay back in school.
I toiled through 5yrs in school and finally graduated from Computer Engineering.

Then the reality of being a man in my country hit me. Life in my country(Nigeria) is really hard especially with leaders who care just for themselves and their families, epileptic power supply, bad roads, high tax rate and a whole lot of them yet I believed in my abilities and my zeal to succeed in any environment.

I was introduced to steemit by a friend @samstikkz in August 2017, even though I was skeptical as I thought it was a ponzi scheme, later decided to give it a try in December 2017 and today my life has changed.

After joining steemit just like my habit I spent days reading and consuming every piece of information I could find about steemit then when I was fully convinced I started blogging.

I've introduced a lot of people to this platform just to mention a few: @camilus, @wendie, @cashkrib @kingsman etc...

After my first reward from steemit, I created the community called @fbm0000 Community, because I knew what hardship and neglect was I decided to put smiles on others.

With the little we could contribute, I led a visit to the orphanage.
U5dsEhuUBVEkmRwxrnTmRJgydrhXXjZ_1680x8400.jpeg

U5dt83xVeid6aNBmywTWSoWWVQXkMad_1680x8400.jpeg

I was in tears when I saw the look on the faces of the children. I finally was able to give what I never was given. Love!

Giving back love to people has become a part of me, as I'm a product of public love.

Shortly after that, I also led an awareness campaign to a class of YabaTech college of Education students with the aim to end hardship and poverty amongst students.
U5dtiMe9MXrzdsaUTTqAgb4XekHF7h1_1680x8400.jpeg

U5drSnxExR3cBgLXhL9XnJYdg9uUpV6_1680x8400.jpeg
I've made amazing friends on steemit and today I've gotten a family from all over the world, just to mention a few friends @mrposyble(Philippines), @wolfje(Switzerland), @aideedavies @emmyllionaire, @dayjee @kodeblacc, @oyinoza, @cashkirb, @dobartim(yes you are my motivation, you keep bringing out the best in me).

I have different projects I hope to achieve through this platform to reach out to as many as I can.

Recently I started an Online Steemit Coaching School called STEEMVERSITY. A place where we guide the new members on the proper steps to becoming a steemian.
Screenshot_20180224-132627.png
Screenshot_20180224-132817.png

Also I just recently in UYO started a project called STEEMIT SCHOOL NIGERIA. Founded by @dobartim. The project is aimed at teaching life's success in all aspects and steemit success, equipping you with begin necessary skills to succeed in any environment.

You have helped kick start my life and forever you'll be a part of it. I pray I meet you someday sir. I love you!

I will not stop until everyone hears about the good steemit has done to my life, not again I'm I dependent on anyone but now dependent on my abilities which I'm constantly developing thanks to you @dobartim for the opportunity to pour out this part of me to the world, now I can embrace freedom from myself. I bless the day I met you sir.

Thanks to @dobartim for this ultimate challenge.
.
To get more information about the contest,

https://steemit.com/steemitultimatechallenge/@dobartim/2zzxgu-steemit-ultimate-challenge-8-weeks-prize-fund-2000-sbd-week-2-registration-is-in-progress

Sort:  

It's great to know you've come out strong from your experience and the greater part is the fact that you have decided to do good and show love to the society even when you we neglected. I've always respected you as a person but now you just win my heart totally. I pray this story wins the competition.
I'm definitely resteeming this

Keep the fire burning bro,i believe in you.

I always knew there was something about you that made us close, thanks to @dobartim for bringing out this side of you. Keep doing good and I hope you win this. I'm also resteeming

Thanks, I'm humbled

Great and very emotional story @fabianmani, it's amazing what we could be facing within us. It's good you've moved pass it and now doing good. I pray you win this. Also resteeming

Thanks, mam

This is encouraging.

Keep it up bro

Steemit have come to stay

Your story is inspiring

Wish you success in the contest

Good luck

Thanks brother

Very nice @fabianmani. You deserve to win

Thanks, I hope so too

You are doing a great job with the @fbm000 family. I wish you more strength.

Thanks for the encouragement

ride on!!!

Keep supporting the good works...its amazing to see people strive to help..welldone.

Keep preaching the steem Gospel.
Famz, glad I'm part of ur steem family 👌😉

Your passion, your aspiration are clearly seen in your writeup and i know you are desirous to do more... Definitely, winning the competition for you will be channel to greater course. You deserve to be the winner.

great history, the upbringing and the home mark us for a lifetime, but it is up to us to decide to be a good human being despite the circumstances, I congratulate you and support you, you have a friend from Venezuela

The little time I have known u.. You are an amazing person tho... We don't let what we have passed through define us..