SteemKitchen Contest #1 - Cheap and Cheerful - Chicken,Mushroom and Spinach Pie.

in #steemkitchen6 years ago (edited)

20181027_161945.jpg


Growing up as a youngster I fondly remember my grandma making us chicken pie when we visited. I love to make this recipe as it keeps well in the freezer and I can make a nice big pie and then have some at a later stage when to busy to cook.

I cant believe chicken pie to be totally local in origin but it sure has become a local dish in many South African Homes.

Sadly I don't have my my grannies recipe but have found a method that works for me and can so easily be adapted to any taste or flavor.

After making and for the first time actual making the full calculation I was actually surprised at how reasonable the Portion Cost was

The whole meals cost came to $ 14.89 with 6 portions the Cost Per Meal came to $ 2.48.

Here in South Africa that is roughly R 37.00 Per portion in our local Currency.


Servings : 6
Preparation Time : 30 Min
Cooking time : 2 Hours


Ingredients :

  • 1 kg x Chicken
  • 600 g x Mushrooms
  • 2 x Large Onions
  • 4 x Fresh Sweetcorn
  • 1 x Green Sweet Pepper
  • 400 g Fresh Veggies
  • Leafy Spinach
  • 1 x Egg
  • 1 L x Chicken Stock
  • 2 Packets x Cream of Chicken Soup
  • Olive Oil
  • Puff Pastry

20181027_113023.jpg


20181027_114233-COLLAGE.jpg

Step By Step :

  1. Chop onions and Pepper and Fry with some Olive Oil in a pot until golden brown color
  2. While Frying the onions prepare chicken pieces and cut into Thumb Size pieces
  3. Add the Chicken to the onions when ready and give a good stir.
  4. Brown the chicken and add the mushrooms, veggies, spinach and chicken stock.
  5. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to a simmer for 30 min.
  6. Mix the soup powder with 3/4 of the water indicated and add to pot.
  7. Let simmer until you get a nice pie filling consistency.
  8. Dish out into Oven Dish. Preheat oven to 180 degrees
  9. Cover the filling with the pastry. Take a fork and prick randomly.
  10. Brush on some whisked egg.
  11. Place in oven for 20 to 30 minutes until the pastry is done, checking often until a golden brown color appears.

20181027_125538-COLLAGE.jpg


Serving Suggestion : Serve with some longrain rice and or a fresh garden salad.


I thoroughly enjoy making this dish and more so having it on the plate for a meal. Its real simple to prepare and goes a long way for a contract worker or bachelor away from home with only one pot and a oven dish required.

Until Next time....... May the Hunger Stay with You. (ps. I forgot my card ;( )


contest banner.gif

Click banner above to go to SteemKitchen's latest Contest Released this week. We are looking forward to a wonderful selection.

Sort:  

that looks so yum! I think it is a very british dish, probably brought here by many of our ancestors

OMgosh! No way!
Chicken,Mushroom and Spinach Pie!!!!
With a puff pastry crust!

I have gone to Heaven!

Did someone say comfort food?

For kings and queens

Now this looks just like my Mom's Chicken & Mushroom Pie, so nice seeing recognisable ingredients here ;)
Lovely entry @freetissues!
I've done my cooking, busy composing the post, will not confuse Tuesday with Wednesday like last time ;);) Egg all over my face that day :):)

Looking forward to your entry.

Looks delicious😋

It certainly is

Oh, that looks good. I do miss chicken pot pie (what my granny called it). I am allergic to gluten so I have yet to find a substitute for wheat flour so pastry tops are out.

By the way, I saw you were at the Curation Corner I was interviewed at and really wanted to say thank you for being so supportive of it. Thanks so much.

Now, where did that chicken go?
Ren

Gluten free is tough but possible. Here is a link that you could check out.... https://www.mamagourmand.com/best-ever-gluten-free-pie-crust/

I loved your attitude and outlook in the interview and wish you all the success possible on the platform. I have taken the foodies under my wings and if you find any new comers you can send them my way to @steemkitchen to join our community discord. Your visit is so much appreciated.

I will definitely send foodies your way. I have actually be watching people with the #steemkitchen for a while, but didn't realize it was you! So much wonderful food.

Thank you so much for your kind words. Thanks for the link as well. I know what we are having for dinner tomorrow.
Ren


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Yay, another test for a bot. Sorry about this. Enjoy the upvote though.

Congratulations @freetissues! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.
You got more than 200 replies. Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!