Sort:  

It's more than just trafalgar. Many people are onboard with #newsteem!

Haha! Yes, I thought I was the only one. He downvoted ~ 75% of my most recent ~ $5.50 @steemmonsters upvote, and in a gesture of diplomacy, I made my case on this post (which is from another author who appears to be part of their "effort" : https://steemit.com/downvotes/@howo/downvote-control-tool-proposal-is-getting-funded-thank-you-very-much-which-features-do-you-want-to-see-first#@trafalgar/py8oci

I can understand the reasoning behind their effort, and I did NOT argue with them about it, but what bothered me was the overall lack of desire to discuss the issue on their end. I had immediately contacted some of the top admin of SteemMonsters, and made that clear in my above comment exchange, and admin was EXCELLENT in immediately refunding my 2,000 DEC, plus gave me a nice JUICY $2 upvote for the inconvenience (which I used towards purchasing a new "+5 reward card" potion (which ironically expired that same day). My MAIN GOAL was to simply DISCUSS the issue, figure out if I had actually done something "wrong", and then proceed to work to find some solutions. Luckily, it seems that SteemMonstes admin could see the logic in all of this, and their solution is perfect. Although I (and some of the handful of other players (primarily in my guild) generally disagree that ALL paid upvotes are "counterproductive", I believe the solution made by admin will address the needs are all parties involved. My only main gripe at this point is the lack of a proper discussion with the downvoter. But luckily, SteemMonsters admin is professional/smart enough to address (and solve) this type of issue in a MATURE manner. So it looks like there has been a happy ending in the grand scheme of things.