Day 1 on Steem Monsters (Splinterlands)

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

As I am writing this my first daily is about to reset so I figured let's take a look at how I did.

Capture2.PNG

So, as far as initial investment I have bought a starter set and 30 booster packs. I was also gifted a dragon summoner from @steamdan which has really carried me through some fights. With that initial kick off I am at about a 60% win rate and I can tell you most of those losses came right as I got into the Silver League.

So, am couple of thoughts from a new player:

  1. Cost of entry to be competitive isn't cheap. I think one of the downsides to a crypto game market is for players like myself who want to enter but are new to the whole crypto market. I am seeing folks buying hundreds of packs with crypto and I am over here swiping my debit card to get some packs. I really think game designers need to make an effort to educate potential new players on how to get into the crypto market if they want to expand and grow. The lack of tutorials and the amount of information on the web can be intimating to someone new.

  2. Competition ramps up quickly after you enter Silver League. Card levels increase and you become exposed to a new set of game rules that makes the learning curve jump pretty quickly. It's obvious that my measly 30 booster packs aren't enough to level up cards to cap of Silver League. You also are not able to be carried anymore by a single epic/legendary card you might have pulled from your boosters.

Capture1.PNG

  1. Tournaments! They happen all the time and most are accessible to new players. Most have some sort of payout for a decent finish and most seems to have at least 50 or more participants. These are very cool, automated by the system and run at a decent pace based on game design.

  2. Discord is a very ACTIVE community of friendly players and there seems to be so communication happening in one of the channels. There are tons of giveaways posted, strategy talks and even the tidbits of wisdom on what the heck to do with crypto and getting involved. I highly suggest new players and veterans alike join it!

https://discord.gg/CAFJRjY

Stay tuned as I keep the world posted on my adventure into cryptocurrency and my foray into playing games built on blockchain technology!

2FFvzA2zeqoVJ2SVhDmmumdPfnVEcahMce9nMwwksSDdRvZjEiwWpvVX5nBpTA4FvcLw7MrzRRaYcPFFLvXkX6S26w3JEgRZjYt9KRGmTvDjUx1YqCFnWR4mbDH4z.png

Interested in Steem Monsters? Click here for a referral and some free stuff: https://steemmonsters.com?ref=zenence

Sort:  

Congratulations @zenence! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

If you took the same money and went to
https://steemmonsters.com/?p=market

You would BOOSTed your deck I think for the 150% better