Dont burn down the kitchen!

in #steemparents7 years ago
2017_09_10_09_34_54
Last year during parent teacher night at my sons school, they had some craft stations set up for the parents to do with their kids. The one station was making Chef hats. We made one for Luke and one for myself.
Every now and then Luke gets in the mood to do some baking and wear our professional hats. The 3 most popular things that we make are cake, cookies and pancakes.
Pancakes are by far his favorite this to eat on the weekend. We often either go out for pancakes after church on Sunday or Luke and I will make pancakes at home while mom is still sleeping in bed.
This morning we had gotten out of bed early, watched the YouTube video that we made yesterday (it will be in an upcoming post) and then decided to make some pancakes. Luke went into teh pantry and grabbed the step stool that we have. This lets him reach up to the counter and actually be able to stir the batter and pour the mix into the pan.
2017_09_10_09_36_02
Some parents may not agree with letting him use the stove. I look at this as an excellent time to teach about the dangers of the burners. To make pancakes you do not have to have it at an extremely high temperature. I always have Luke put his hand out above the stove and say "Can you feel how hot it is? Remember never ever tough it". I show him the red lights that come on when the burners are hot and how to tell what area each red light stands for. He as actually gained a respect for the stove and I am not scared that he is going to randomly touch it when I am not looking.
Today was the first time that I let him actually flip the pancakes over. He was so excited and was filled with pride and self confidence. He was having so much fun that he went and grabbed some of his stuffed animals and sat them at the table. He said "Dad we need to make more pancakes for them. I am their waiter and they both want pancakes".
2017_09_10_09_34_16
I don't think that enough parents get their children involved in the kitchen. We live in such a fast food environment. If we don't teach our kids to cook for themselves it will always be easier to grab something quick that someone else had made. There are other great benefits to cooking together. One as I already mentioned is teaching younger kids of kitchen safety. The more that they are aware, the safer they will be.
Another is spending quality one on one time with your children. Household chores can be a great time to build on your relationship. When family members are making dinner together we almost always talk about our day or talk about upcoming plans and events.
A third great benefit is that it can be a great learning experience. Teaching them to follow baking directions, measuring quantities, setting temperatures, keeping track of baking times. Today we talked about liquids and solids. I love when you can sneak in some teaching when they don't even realize that they are learning.
I encourage all steemparents to spend more time cooking together with their children. Who knows, you may even have something delicious to eat afterwards as well!

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is a loving husband and father who enjoys spending time with his family no matter the activity.
He is an active member of steemparents and teamcanada
Check out one of my Recent Blogs


If you enjoyed this post, please up-vote and/or Follow @dadview on Steemit

Sort:  

A family that cooks together and eats together stays together. Also cooking is such a wonderfull life skill that isn't being stressed enough anymore.

That's so true. It gives me a lot of pleasure to know that my kids can make basic meals for themselves.

Looks like you had a lot of fun. Cooking with the kids is great. They have fun while they are learning life skills and a bit of math in there too! My daugther made pancakes all by herself for Father's Day (she's 10). Flipping pancakes is such an accomplishment.

I will come back and upvote this post when I have a bit more steem power :D

Another good tag for this post would is #powerfulkids

There are so many lessons kids learn when baking or making something for themself, which I agree that it's better to teach them now than waiting till they start habits of reaching for premade goods. It's harder to break old easy habits.

One thing I forgot to mention is that they are also more likely to eat something that they have helped pick out and prepare.

Darryl @dadview

That is very true, they like to taste the rewards of their master piece.
I find when they don't want to try something we play a guessing game of can they guess whats inside - This works well with smoothies, by the time they have guessed they have drank most to all of it.

Very cool! Fresh pancakes are so good, but the time spent together is priceless

My dad taught me how to make dumplings when I was little, he is a pro in this ahahah It's true that it's a lot of fun to cook together with your family!Wonderful post 😊