Dads, just swallow it and show some teeth, will you?

in #steemparents7 years ago

Yesterday afternoon, I've been invited over for tea. This was a very special tea as my 5 year old daughter was the host.


Source

It was a VIP occasion and it was for princesses ONLY.

I received my princess tiara and had to sit down at a beautifully decorated, tiny, plastic table. I also had the privilege to sit on the tiniest plastic chair that ever existed! I can truly tell you that it was the most delicious tea I have ever tasted in my life. Not only was it served in the tiniest cup and saucer ever made, but it also came with cake, biscuits, salad, spaghetti and jello.

It's a pity that the doorbell rang because if I stayed any longer, I just might have gotten my nails done too!


Source

Well, the same thing can be said for tea party invitations! You do NOT say NO to a princess tea party - no matter what!

So firstly, I have never imagined ever being a princess, let alone having "princessy" conversations with Barbie dolls; and secondly, I did not ever think that I will be able to smile with a tiara on my head, but a man's got to do what a man's got to do if you want to be a hero - even if it's wearing glitters and raising your pinkie over a cup of tea and spaghetti-jello-cake!


Source

I'm quite thankful for 4 things:

  1. Being the guest of honor at such a prestige event.
  2. Heart-to-heart conversations with the most beautiful and amazing princess in the world.
  3. Being the center of attention of all the beautiful girls around me.
  4. That my wife wasn't there to take pictures!

My advice to other invited "princess dads" would be to accept the invitation, roll with it, smile and make that little princess happy. It will soon be over for you but it will stick forever in her little heart!

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Dads and their little girls! Good story😉

Aww that was cute 😍😍

Great story, we need to enjoy them when they are small, they grow up far to quickly.

yeah blessing of God

Super cute, dude... Good on you! An involved father is a loved father. The quote about answering the toy phone hit me right in the feelings. ALWAYS answer that phone 😍



@steemparents is a community/manual curation account that supports and shares content about awesome parents like yourself. We invite you to use the #steemdads tag for all your posts about you and your little girl! We also have a steemit.chat room and a Discord Channel where you can hang out with other parents from around the world, and share your stories!

Nice!!! I love the way the message was carried across. My days are coming (tiara's and spaghetti). For now I'm happy sipping away at imaginary cooldrinks, coffee and eating whatever it is she's feeding me :):)

You are the man!!!!

Awesome, did this many times when my daughter gave me mud to drink. LOL

This is just lovely, well done daddy!

What a wonderful,understanding and caring daddy :)

I love this post.
I wrote something similar in my last post "Love is Embarrassing"
I am currently writing a blog for Steemparents called Fatherhood Fridays. Do you mind if I mention your post and add a link to it?
We try to spread the word about parenting content to other parents on Steemit.
Thanks

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is an active member of steemparents and #teamcanada
Check out my Latest Blog

I'm sorry, I only saw this reply now. You are (or were) more than welcome to mention my post. Will check out your blog.
Thanks man!