Giniling (Ground Meat) Recipe

in #steemph6 years ago (edited)

Hi there, my fellow Steemians!

Cooking is one of my hobbies. It makes me so proud everytime I accomplish something in the kitchen, especially if my husband and daughter will love it. Sometimes, preparing food in the kitchen is also part of our family bonding.

Disclaimer, I'm not a chef or a professional cook. I just learned cooking from my mother who I remember, loves to experiment on her dishes. Her recipes are the best. My mother passed away in 2013. Oh no, no sad mood please and let's go back to cooking.

Now, I just want to share one of my favorite Filipino dishes, the giniling. The recipe that I want to share to you is just an improvisation in what I see and tasted in the carenderias (dine in food stalls) in the Philippines. This viand is one of the most common food displays.


image


Now, let's start with the Ingredients:

  1. Half kilo ground meat. Pork or Beef. Your choice.
  2. 3 medium size carrots, chopped in tiny square.
  3. 6 medium potatoes, chopped in tiny square.
  4. 90 g Tomato Sauce
  5. 3/4 cup green peas
  6. 1 medium bell pepper, chopped in small squares.
  7. 3 laurel leaves
  8. Salt
  9. Pepper
  10. Garlic, chopped in tiny pieces
  11. Medium onion, chopped.
  12. 2 tbsps. Oil
  13. Half cup raisins. You can omit this if you want. 😉
  14. 1/2 cup water.

image


Now for the procedure:

  • Pour the oil in the pan in a medium fire. Once the oil gets hot, saute the garlic, next the onion until cooked.
![image]()

* Add the ground meat and mix. Add salt. Wait until the meat turns watery. Cover it for about 5 mins.
![image]()
  • Add the laurel leaves, greenpeas, the potato and carrots mixture and the bell pepper. Mix thoroughly so that the ingredients will be distributed evenly.

image


  • Put the tomato sauce.

  • Pour half cup of water or more, just enough to tenderize and cook the vegetables and the green peas.

  • More salt and pepper according to your taste.

  • Last step is the raisins (optional). Just add and mix until cooked.

image


And...


image

It's ready to eat!

I hope you like my recipe.
Well, as they say, there are so many ways to cook this dish. Others want some boiled egg on the side which is fine too.

How about you? Do you like this dish? How do you cook it?

Thanks for reading and have a blessed day, everyone!

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 15:37:11
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 13.15/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Kagutom naman yan ang sarap tignan ng larawan. Thanks sa recipe! para syang menudo minus the atay at di ganun ka kulay.

Thanks. Eto yung version ko ng recipe. Di ko alam pano gawin ang menudo eh. Halos ganun lang din pala? Itry ko din minsan.

One of my favorite Filipino dishes! :) thanks for sharing the recipe.

Welcome. Fave ko talaga to eh kaya ginawa ko lahat makaluto nito sa bahay. ;)