You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flambé Vegetarians & Vegans! : Why are they Hated On So Much?

in #steempress5 years ago

I loved reading this! I used to be called in certain circles a "bad hunter" as many folks referred to vegetarians as... This never offended me, and I honestly have a lot more understanding of the situation now that I'm grounding food production.

I often tried to avoid the veganism conversation altogether if there wasn't overt interest, but it can be tough to make a life choice known without going into discussion. That's great you had an early introduction to the healthy vegetarian choices.

"Most people also struggle with empathy - they don't stop to put themselves in other people's shoes and wonder what it might be like for them." I couldn't agree more. On both sides of the discussion this is true. I've heard ppl say that no one should eat meat, or that you can't survive without meat. In too many conversations, it's not about understanding so much as it is about righteousness.

Nowadays I tend to look to the distant past for eating advice. Eat what's around you and don't be picky. Yesterday I ate a raccoon I salvaged from the road and was amazed at how delicious and tender it was. What used to be common fare across this continent is now looked down upon and seen and gross. Food is life that comes in many forms and it's all too common that we create a toxic environment through close-minded views on food.

Thanks for sharing.

-ini

Sort:  

Oh roadkill.. excellent. When we were in England we used to eat roadkill deer. You could take the carcass to a butcher who would portion it up for a fee. And roadkill pheasant was great too. That's one of the reasons I went back to meat as it felt right to do it in that way. Wren said you'd been hunting. I do appreciate that more old school way of foraging own meat rather than buying meat as it is so unethical. I have a mate who drops us off kangaroo or rabbit sometimes which we trade for stuff.

It is always best to avoid toxic debate on food choices. I have never really seen them anywhere but online to be honest.. empathy can be stripped back when we aren't having face to face dialogue.

Thanks for your beautiful comment.

Posted using Partiko Android