Paintings on the Ceiling of Wontong-Jeon in Chiljangsa Temple, Anseong City

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

Wontong-jeon Hall was very special because of the paintings on the ceiling. It seemed the first time for me to see those various paintings on the ceiling. Usually, the patterns were drawn on the ceiling in other cases.

It seemed that each painting had its own meaning, but unfortunately, I could not find out the meaning.

There were patterns on the ceiling. But I could not understand the meaning of the mixed patterns between the octagonal and hexagonal structures.

While looking around such many temples, I didn't notice the patterns and the paintings on the ceiling.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://koreanculture.dothome.co.kr/paintings-on-the-ceiling-of-wontong-jeon-in-chiljangsa-temple-anseong-city/
--- ##### **Sponsored ( Powered by [dclick](https://www.dclick.io) )** ##### [500 Stone Arhats of the Korean Temple](https://api.dclick.io/v1/c?x=eyJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiIsInR5cCI6IkpXVCJ9.eyJjIjoic2xvd3dhbGtlciIsInMiOiJwYWludGluZ3NvbnRoZWNlaWxpbmdvZndvbnRvbmctamVvbmluY2hpbGphbmdzYXRlbXBsZWFuc2VvbmdjaXR5LThoaTN4ZHcwZ2kiLCJhIjpbInQtMjAxOSJdLCJ1cmwiOiJodHRwOi8va29yZWFuY3VsdHVyZS5kb3Rob21lLmNvLmtyLzUwMC1zdG9uZS1hcmhhdHMtb2YtcnVpbmVkLWNoYW5ncnllb25nc2EtdGVtcGxlLXdvbmp1LWNpdHkvIiwiaWF0IjoxNTY0NjM5ODkzLCJleHAiOjE4Nzk5OTk4OTN9.55laPWZgaX3_cA_ZlpymcIgfd0HG5UuWPprM9I8ubVg) 500 stone arhats about a thousand years ago were exc...
Sort:  

🎁 Hi @slowwalker! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Pony Swim At Chincoteague Island Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Looks quite amazing to see that wonderful work there

Beautiful characters. It seems to me you are a happy person. You are studying the meaning of various cultural values, and this can not be not interesting. I begin to study all world religions. What book about Buddhism would you advise me to read? Preferably with the presence of Russian translation :)

Nice art that will keep people admire it for eternity :)

Wow 😲

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love such pattern paintings on ceilings. Resteemed :-)

I would love to have such ceiling, being a child I loved to look at a ceiling and try to find some pattern there and see how it looks like.

The painting of the Ceiling of Wontong-Jeon look golden colour, very nice :)

The paintings are a fascinating piece of history. Just looking at them, knowing they come from another place in time and have survived the ravages of humanity, especially pillage and war - it amazed me.

No matter how much I looked, I could find nothing on the, either individually or together as one piece. I would be interested to know what you find out, eventually.

It is one of the things I like to do when I am out and about. Looking up! I hope you are able to find out something. It looks truly interesting!

잘 가세요

!tip