Bring Readers to Steemit from Google Image Search! #12

Steem secret 12 by Jerry Banfield.png

How do we get discovered by users searching images in Google? What simple steps do we take to make sure our pictures have a chance to rank high in Google image search? When users find our pictures while searching for images, how easy is it to get a reader on our blog?

Title Every Picture Completely!


This is a REALLY EASY step that a lot of us are tempted to skip in a rush to get our posts up and because we do not realize how much difference it makes. I hope showing this helps motivate us to always take the extra 5 seconds to name our pictures. For example, last night I did a post about Sluggo's North Vegetarian Cafe in Chattanooga, Tennessee with the following pictures.

Naming pictures.png

Yes it would have saved me about 10 minutes in just using 003832.jpg or whatever the file names were before I edited them. I took the time to edit them into the exact terms I want to rank on because Google image search is often a very easy way to get organic traffic with almost no competition!

For example, I did a post about my family's stay at the Residence Inn Marriott in Nashville SE/Murfreesboro, Tennessee!

Dominating Google Image Search!


Today when I searched in an incognito window to remove bias of my own searches, almost every picture at the top was from my post on Steemit! A picture of me even appears in the results :)

images from steemit in google image search.png

When clicking on a picture, it becomes very easy to get a click to steemit.com because a double click on the picture or a click to visit site will bring the user to the source.

view image links to visit site.png

With nearly everyone uploading pictures not taking the time to title the pictures completely, ranking in Google image search is often our best opportunity to dominate organic search results almost immediately!

Will this work every time for every place? Of course not. Some image searches have heavy competition making it unlikely to rank at the top right away.

Always Name Images Before Upload!


The idea is to pick the low hanging fruit by always taking the extra couple minutes to name images completely with the understanding that doing this repeatedly will lay a foundation of Google image search traffic to our blogs on Steemit indefinitely!

For the easiest high quality naming, just copy and paste the main text into the name every time with one to three extra words for each unique picture like this!

Naming pictures.png

Name Our Pictures = More Readers for All!


As we each are better about naming our pictures, the total readers we all get will continue to grow as Steemit.com continues to rank higher as a website!

Thank you for reading this quick steem secret here with me which I hope was helpful!

Love,
Jerry Banfield

Shared on

PS: Would you please make a vote for jerrybanfield as a witness or set jerrybanfield as a proxy to handle all witness votes at https://steemit.com/~witnesses because as a top 20 witness I am pledging 80% of my earnings (~$200 a day) towards ads for Steem on Facebook and Google! Thank you to the 1361 accounts voting for me as a witness, the 718M VESTS assigned from users trusting me to make all witness votes by setting me as proxy, and @followbtcnews for making these .gif images!

Vote Jerry Banfield Steem Witness Rank 29

OR

Set JerryBanfield proxy

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Nice idea...I will try this next time 😃 Infact, I am excited now to try it. Thanks for the worthy advices...🙏

Hi most respected sir. i need your little help. I want to learn earning method on steemit from you. I belong to a poor family. I shall be thankful to you for this kindness.

Solid idea... Thanks.... now all we need is for someone to make an app for that :)

Hi @jerrybandifield , I really hope you see this comment as I am a bit lost.. Thank you so much for this helpful tips, I have tested out and unfortunately it's not working , is it because I am using postimage.org to upload my photos..?

always the best seo man thank you @jerrybanfield

It is a great advice @jerrybanfield. It is one of the great ways to popularize Steem and I believe steem is creating one of the top content creators in the world too.

That is an interesting way of bringing people on steem. I will do that from now on.

Sound advice indeed.

Agreed, awesome advice @jerrybanfield I am going to give this a bash for sure. Thanks mate have a super weekend ;)

I was unaware that Google cared about our file upload name. I assumed only keywords in a post was what mattered. We must all name our video files now. No more 0024339.jpg

@redbikk I agree with you, its important to name images so our posts ranks higher and also help STEEMIT to be discovered. Upvoted. @gold84

Another good idea. Jerry will ruin google soon))

I think I speak for everyone here on steemit when I say thank you Jerry Banfield for all you do for this community

Ditto and ditto, and what an amazing community it is. Cheers ;)

yes, thanks @jerrybanfield! I'm a new here and I learned everything steem from you before and after I signed up :-)

Hi , Great tip. I had heard about this tip for a normal blog but it will be great to super charge steemit. It is also great that so many of us are pulling in the same direction. Fantastic times ahead.
Many thanks

Never even thought about using SEO techniques to get more followers, this is so smart- yet very simple and almost obvious - Thanks for sharing! Do you upload to Google Drive or a third party image holder? :)

Simple. I like simple. Do you have any videos on how you go from camera to post. Like how you save and store your files. Would love to see how you do that.

I appreciate you! Its a great kinda opportunity. Always something fruitful post you shared

Where are You from ?

Hello Jerry Im a local Jetski rental business owner in Bradenton If you ever around I love to pick you brain out on the water with a fun day at Bradenton Water Toys

I do SEO in Jacksonville, FL and I was wondering if steem could be used for local seo. I see you haven't made a post about your business. I wonder if you can do that here and get it ranked easily.

@jerrybanfield, this is such a lateral idea. You're relentless...Steemit should have a yearly award named after you for dedicated promoters of the network. The Jerries.

A very helpful post! I think nearly nobody did think about this before.

Upvoted and resteemed.

PS: With the file manager Total Commander you have a multi-rename tool which is very helpful here.

For the easiest high quality naming, just copy and paste the main text into the name every time...

If you have selected your concerned files then you write your main text once and with one klick you rename them all. Now you could select a few from them and do it the same way with a second level main text which would be appended to the existing file name, and so on.

Jerry Banfeild upvoted resteemed and following your since u had 100k subs on your youtube channel. Show some support please upvote me

Congratulations @jerrybanfield, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superhero or Legend account holder (accounts hold greater than 100 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superhero and Legend account holders during this period was 16 and the total pending payments to posts in these categories was $882.60. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

An interesting post appointment, this is great. i like this post, this is a good job, if i can appreciate you then i will give power over to your genius here. This is very valuable to me

If an image drives traffic to our steem blog, that doesn't mean necessarily that we are going to get more income unless if the person choose to subscribe in to steem platform.

Good ideas.

I tried to evaluate the content with a Chrome plugin SEOquake.

Search Engine Status for Steemit.com

Search Engine Status for Steemit.com

  1. Text/HTML ratio

4.32% — ouch! Your websites ratio of text to HTML code is below 15%. We suggest adding a lot more text to your website.

  1. Canonical tags also suggested - but that seems to be needing some support from the development team.

One of the unique method to do helping of poor Internet users. Thanks for sharing nice and valuable information.
Have a great day

I upload directly from my phone to imgur. However when I put my pics into the post using markdown, I take that time to title my images, I think this achieves the same thing. But I’m unsure. What do you say @jerrybanfield?

Awesome idea @jerrybanfield, this way you will get some people to join Steemit, this is a good way to expend our community. I will start doing it today. Good observation as always.

You are right, Jerry. I'm gonna try it out

good post and interesting, thanks for sharing for all of us.

thanks for sharing

Awesome information! Thanks @JerryBanfield!

Thankyou for the information, I'll gonna do tgat to my next post

Good ideas, but here is a challenge for you, Jerry. I am a professional photographer. I make my living from selling prints of my work (among other things). As such, I have my photos all over the web, most of them using the SEO techniques you list above. How then can I benefit from this advice when I post the same photos on Stemit? It's not feasible to go around and point every single copy of my photos on the web to my Steemit page. So... hmmm. Ideas?

I think you start for his method for your New Photos from now on.

Great SEO advice Jerry. Followed you and upvote

@jerrybanfield... This is very thoughtful... Thanks for this information

This is good news, a news that will add us to know about the advantages of google, thank you for sharing

Thanks for flagging. Excellent point about going the extra mile.

Awesome post as always.

I did not know that this also affected image searches.. I knew titles and such could get googles algorithms attention to pop up on the miain page of the search.
Thanks for the info Jerry! You da man!

This is interesting news, you are right with using this google we are very easy to find pictures or postings we, especially post that has been very long, great post and a dish that is amazing for us at will.

Thanks for your info and very important in posting and the image will bring you more veiwers Get info Follow u

you are great sir

Thanks for the tip, I also didn't think to use SEO here. A suggestion for everey one, as you do in your example , if you post some place, add the locations, city, state.. sometimes country. Usually the separator is a dash. Here a link with some other tips. http://shuttermuse.com/image-seo-how-to-name-files/

it is indeed very helpful! thank you @jerrybanfield! :)

ultimate hack. super dope thatnks. for the secret.

My love... steemit.

But will somebody follow me?

I'm following you already dood. Cheers ;)

wow thanks Jerry what great information! I shall try this out for sure. This is the first of your posts I have checked out and may I say, what a great introduction to who you are! A cool guy =) I am following your blog.
Have a beautiful day.

EXCELLENT ADVICE!!
Why haven't I thought of that before? :)

Thanks for sharing the nice write up @ jerrybanfield!

Sky is the limit to bring people to steem on consistent basis.

great job thanks for shearing

There are 2 pages
Pages