Can You identify this coin???

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

I recently obtained this coin and have been trying to identify it? Steemit has a great community of coin collectors.... So, I am hoping someone has seen a similar coin before or can direct me to a good place to research such coins?

I took the best pics I could of the both sides and used a quarter for size comparison. The first pic is one I tried to adjust to see the letters better.

IMG_3996-2.jpg

IMG_3996.jpg

IMG_4002.jpg

IMG_4001.jpg

I can't seem to match the letters in any of the websites I have found so far...

any help or direction is greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!

Sort:  

I don't know. But it really looks old. I like it.

Yeah it does. I can’t make out enough lettering to figure it out. Going to try a more powerful magnifying glass.

I think this may be of some interest to you... It says it is Roman provincial coins... https://www.google.co.in/amp/s/www.pinterest.com/amp/nikolaymalchev/roman-provincial-coin/

Thank you for the input. Did a quick search and there are definitely some similar letters. Will dig deeper in that period.

Very cool roman looking coin. What is on the other side? Looks Gealic

Not sure. Both are in post. Need to figure it out. Storage unit

A dude inhaling smoke on one sise and a chick on a harp on the other

So maybe it's an early California coin. Lol

It looks like some sort of Viking thing hehe

on the one side it looks like a Britannia, so i think it could be an old Roman coin, but you can try from there, because it definitely looks roman

Thanks. I’m going to figure this out for sure. But will start there.

do not be afraid to vote @semi23
@hantu
@burung21

Your post is very interesting

the front looks greek the way the face is sculpted, but the reverse looks like its wearing a roman helmet so ??