History a quarter at a time

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

When I decided I wanted to collect coins, starting was no easy task. There are so many coins based on denomination and origin. After some time, I decided to collect Washington quarters and bought my first coin book and thus began a journey. After a decade My book still has holes but is getting rather full.

When I started my goal was to seek out the highest graded quarters I could find/afford. I figured it was a smart investment as well. If I come across a better coin I can always upgrade. I currently have 131 of the 192 Washington quarters. This has slowed me down because I pass up many decent quarters for just the right one. Some of the more rare coins have forced my to start at a lower grad such as the 1932D.

I prefer to visit local coin shops and avoid on-line purchases so I can visually inspect coins. Too many scams these days.

The Washington quarter (1932 to date) which includes the Bicentenial (1776-1976) had not changed much until the more recent State quarters were introduced.

Prior to the Washington quarter was the Standing Liberty (1916-1930)
IMG_4193.jpg
Obverse
IMG_4194.jpg

NOTE: It wasn't until I started this blog that I realized my book does not include a 1931 however after some research they do exist.

Back up a bit further in time and you have the Barber or Liberty Head (1892-1916)
IMG_4208.jpg
Obverse
IMG_4209.jpg

Back further we go... From 1838-1891 was the Liberty Seated
IMG_4197.jpg
Obverse
IMG_4198.jpg

From 1815-1836 was the Capped Bust which had two varieties. Pictured is variety 2.
IMG_4204.jpg
Obverse
IMG_4205.jpg
This is by far my favorite quarter.

The first U.S. Quarter was the Draped Bust from 1796-1807. Although there is a 11 year span I believe they were only minted in 1796 and 1804-1807. Not pictured because I don't have one...yet!

Disclaimer: I am a novice collector and not an authority on coins. I'm just sharing some coins I have personally collected. I obtained the mintage dates and quarter types from the "Official Red Book". Hope you enjoyed them!

#depbill

Sort:  

awesome post! and timely!!! i just picked up my first barber quarter today! i didm/
't even know what it was! Thanks for info d-bill, one more layer of this awesome disease!

Glad you liked it! It was fun going thru my quarters for the post. Congrats on the barber. Started that book also.

Excellent post, Makes me want to play some old school (.25) video games :)

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.