Steemit's Curious New Radio Show

in #steemstar6 years ago

UPDATE!

A couple of days ago I announced my new radio show, airing

this Sunday at 9 pm UTC.

Click here for the orginal post.

The original title was, "Cryptids, Monsters, and Mythical Beasts."

But that's not actually a good radio title. It's long, it's wordy, and a lot of people have no idea what a cryptid is. (Tune into the show and you'll find out!)

Henceforth, this show shall be named

The Cabinet of Curiosities!

It's catchier, easier to remember, and comes with its own interesting story.


source



During the 18th and 19th centuries, when historical sciences were all the rage, collectors would seek out "curiosities" from all around the world and house them in their personal collections, some of which were, in fact, actual cabinets. They were in essence private museums of science and nature and contained everything from shrunken heads to bone fragments from some unknown and monstrous species (dinosaurs), to rare perfumes, stuffed creatures, and flora from far away lands.

Think of them as the original Ripley's Believe It Or Not attractions.

Over time, almost all of these private collections were assimilated into museums, and thanks to them, many priceless historical relics have been preserved for us to wonder at today.




source

My show is going to cover much more than just the tangible, however.

And many of my topics would be impossible to put on a shelf. Poltergeists, for example.

But the mood is right. We shall definitely be delving into the curious on my show.

Remember, if you have a spooky, unusual, or just plain curious story, I would love to hear it and share it on the air!



!steemitworldmap 29.9955 lat -98.0986 long Wimberley, Texas d3scr

Sort:  

Bloody awesome! Will deffo have a listen!

Holy ghosting beard, Batman!
Are you back??

I think I quite possibly maybe!

Been a little lumpy and bumpy, but still kicking.

Glad to see you still creating! That's what you do best... And scare people ;)

DUDE! Join us ---> https://discord.gg/8EgU8Dv

Ah! my Muxxy Mux!

I will do bud. Will blow the cobwebs out this weekend.

Nice to see you back

Thanks brotha.

Nice to see you still here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by LenaDr from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This should be an interesting show!

I hope so! Haha.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lenadr
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=steemit-s-curious-new-radio-show


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

I am so excited for this!!

Thank you!!

@lenadr Awesome name! I can't wait to tune in......How do I listen? Also, I'm really resisting googling 'cryptid' right now.......

Haha. Basically, I think of cryptids as creatures that defy explanation. If one runs in front of you and you scream, "what the hell was that?!?!" ...that's a cryptid. LOL

You can tune into the Discord channel here: https://discord.gg/NkamZ7
Or visit http://steemstar.net/
My show starts Sunday at 9pm UTC which is 3pm CST, 4pm EST

I'm so excited you'll be listening in!!! Thank you!

Oh yes! Sounds fantastic!

Congratulations @lenadr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This sounds epic!
Let me just calculate how possible would it be for me to listen to it live.. agh, time zones give me headache..
I gather that by UTC one means GMT.. +2 that makes it.. uncomfortably late 23:00.. huh.
Moral dilemma.
Listen to the epic curiosities live and become a zombie like curiosity for the Monday morning myself.. or wait.. for a recording? Will there be a recording?
Pretty please?
gives the cutest expression of puppy eyes

Haha, yes I will definitely be recording. I'm not sure where it will be yet, but I'll let you know. Maybe I'll make it a post. I'm still figuring all this out. :)

Thank you! ^^

Love the name you settled on. Looking forward to listening to the show.

Hooray!