You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A mirror hidden world to get a grip on dark matter

in #steemstem • 5 years ago

Here I am again with my crazy comments! 😆

How fascinating to learn about a possible secluded mirror world which is faintly connected to ours. My imagination has gone pretty wild after reading this!

As for the following statement:

mirror dark matter passing through Earth can interact with matter once in a while, which could potentially be recorded.

@lemouth, wasn't more or less like this that the Higgs boson was first detected? Through its rare interactions with matter?

I am sure @agmoore2 will not be disappointed! :)

Sort:  

You know me too well, dear Abigail. I absolutely love this! I was tired when I read this (1:17 AM here) and thought I'd have trouble concentrating. But got into it right away. A mirror world!

Going back to the mirror-world framework, all underlying symmetries permit the existence of connections between the visible and mirror worlds.

It's very exciting. Can't wait for the next installment :)

 5 years ago (edited) 

I am happy to read it was easy enough for a "soon-to-bed" reading.

For the next post on neutrinos, I am actually waiting for a dedicated image. As soon as I will get it, I will post it. In the meantime, I may write about other topics. Whilst there are actually other cool things about mirror worlds, maybe I will focus on something quite different. I will see by the end of the week :)

I like to read your crazy comments! Always! As you know, I am looking forward to read those comments ^^

My imagination has gone pretty wild after reading this!

In fact, I am not really sure that I want to know the wild part... ;)

@lemouth, wasn't more or less like this that the Higgs boson was first detected? Through its rare interactions with matter?

At this level, the Higgs boson can be seen as interacting a lot with matter. We are talking about a huge difference in orders of magnitude. Give or take, we could easily have millions of Higgs boson's interaction for one single dark matter interaction.

On the fun side, the Higgs boson is today a background to many searches for new phenomena... The signal of the day is the background of tomorrow. This has always be the case in particle physics.

I am sure @agmoore2 will not be disappointed! :)

I hope not ^^