You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fungi Friday - A VARIETY OF SHAPES ON THE FOREST FLOOR

in #steemstem5 years ago (edited)

:) I photographed during the day ... but on a cloudy autumn day, in the dense forest is half dark ... actually even on a sunny day is pretty shady on the forest floor ...so it is easy to make it look like night ... I used two external flashes for the various light arrangements, portraiting the mushrooms like people.

Sort:  

I agree that there are always deep shadows in the forest and small mushrooms do not like direct sun. But the flash should illuminate not only the mushroom itself. How did you regulate this?
DSC06153.jpg

Here I made a dark background ... there is clearly not enough extra light. I love the forest and love to shoot in the forest. I want to make several light sources on diodes from the battery for macro sessions. But these are only plans so far

The flash was never direct, it was above, slightly behind or lateral ... or combination because there were 2 flashes ... that way with certain exposure the background can be dark even in the middle of a bright day ... here ad example ...
7074malo.jpg
... this was in the middle of the day on the open meadow ... this was 1/500 sec ...f/14 ... ISO 100 ... and those flashes ... camera cannon eos350, lens 100 mm macro

I realized that a clamped aperture, fast shutter speed make the night, and the flash highlights the subject. I had not thought of such a method before. Thanks, I have to try. That's just the appearance of flashes yet. I will buy. What kind of flash do you use?

Right now :) just the built-in flash of my compact camera ... back then, 10 years ago when I made those photographs ... I was using Canon 430EX II Flash ... and sometimes Canon Mr-14ex macro ring lite ... but I never mounted this ring on the lens, I was always shooting with the ring in one and the camera in another hand, so I could go with the light above and lateral to things ...

Yes, light that creates shadows is more interesting than light without shadows. Now I intend to make myself several light sources on diodes and a battery. So far, these are only intentions. But I will do it eventually. I have an A72M without a built-in flash. Sometimes the flash is not enough.

I don't know all the options available today ... but surely there is a lot more and for better prices that then ... I don't follow much this gear development for DSLRs because I use a small camera now ... so I have no good advice about that

You have already given good advice. I see one of the ways I’ll go. Thank :-)