You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Accepting negative moods can reduce them

Right there with you.

I wrote my way out of a serious depression, using techniques that consisted of accepting what I was feeling, exploring how I got there, and expressing gratitude for what I was learning, and for the process itself.

This wasn't a structured approach, simply my way of working through what I was going through with journaling, but it helped me more than I can say.

Then, when I lost the third person close to me in just over a year, with the September 11th attacks in-between, I let go and accepted grief counseling. And it helped me immensely.

But acceptance is key.

Acceptance of self, of circumstances, of imperfection, of occasional really crappy days, of fear . . . and of joy, of wonder, and of being worthy, despite it all.

Great post. Thank you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

One of the techniques that I have used was writing too and it really did help. The focus is different when we think or speak and when we write and I have found that when writing about negative feelings and trying to explain them, they go away really fast because my brain switches to analyzing mode :)
I am glad you enjoyed the post, thank you for sharing your story and providing such a lovely feedback. Much love! 💚

And much love back to you, @zen-art. ;-)