You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: IN TOUCH WITH RITUALS - sweeps, rumblings, slaps and bondage

in #steemstem3 years ago (edited)

Thank you very much for reading and commenting on this theme. I read with interest the example you gave and can only confirm full heartedly that rituals need a context and an attitude which honors what the ritual gives to the participants. When this is given, the action itself can contain violence in both physical as psychological form but is carried by the members of the community resp. those involved.

So, your anecdote contains quite some importance, it is a genuine description and not a theoretical assumption.

I feel I/we need much more of those anecdotes in this time of being. I would like to start publishing those kinds of stories but never got people in bigger numbers to take part. Do you think it'd be worthwhile to spend some time on it here on hive?

In my last blog post I featured Margaret Mead. If you are interested, watch the video at the bottom of my post. I loved to watch it.

Can you also say something more about your grandmothers "Seven Year Old Wonder Book" and what it contained? You don't have a sample, by chance? ...
:) Rudolf Steiner, yeah, he was quite making a difference.

Greetings.

Sort:  

It was a collection of stories. I actually didn't realise it was Waldorf philosophy based.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4967.The_Seven_Year_Old_Wonder_Book

Do you think it'd be worthwhile to spend some time on it here on hive?

The question is, will you find it worthwhile?

:) It's always worth my while, when I take up things of my interest.
When you skim through my blog entries, you'll find many related texts which refer to family, history and traditions. Oftentimes I tried to inspire and engage readers to think about their own and, if possible, to give examples from their experiences and memories. Only rarely I got response in the form of shared stories. That I answer with the fact that not enough people were either having those kinds of stories or, I did not have enough readers or support from the crowd. I guess, I would have to ask other community actors to take part.

So I ask back: would you be interested?

Interesting to read the comments from your link. In my own childhood, nobody read me books or told bed time stories. I totally lack this on my own but did it frequently and with joy to my boy. By the way, do you have children, if you allow me to ask?

:) It's always worth my while, when I take up things of my interest.

Then it's worth doing on Hive. 😊

I’m not entirely sure what stories you're thinking of, but happy to converse, share and answer questions.

I have two daughters and bedtime stories were a tradition for us. My mother read to us on occasion, but not regularly. I still may have developed the habit with my girls from those memories.

I didn't actually look at the comments, I'll go do that now.