Dad, It hurts.

in #steemstem6 years ago

My dad has been among the strongest people I know. He has been an inspiration to me and my siblings.
Though I left home for school some 3 years ago in another town. I embrace every opportunity to spend time with him. He always has stories to tell about his youth, his faith, and virtually anything he did in the past. fun-dad-300x271.jpeg

One day, I came home from high school and I felt so bad because I was let down by some of my friend. He was better at Mathematics than I was and I asked him to put me through in some topics. He agreed to do this but always put me off. We took a quiz and I knew I did poorly. I also knew I would have done better if he had put me through.
On getting home, my dad would always know when I was disturbed by something. He asked and I narrated to him the ordeal. He took me to his room and asked me to do the trust fall with him. He asked me if I trusted him. I said 'yes, I do'. He then asked me to lean back that he wouldn't let me fall. I did and next thing, I saw myself on the floor. 'Dad, it hurts', I said. He said he knows. I felt bad at first but this changed my mind.
'Son, in life you will always meet setbacks, there will be low points in your life. People may not always be there for you. The truth is, you will be hurt by people-even the ones you trust. Yes, it hurts. But you are not dead and you can stand up and go at life again. About revenge, forgiveness is the best revenge. Love, learn and move on boy.'
trust-3.jpg

Looking back at that moment, I knew I just learned a lesson for life and once more I had my Dad to thank for it.

Hope you enjoyed this piece.
Upvote... Resteem and Leave your comments.

For more, follow me @Jackobia.

Sort:  

I believe that! Thank you for sharing such a great lesson.

You're most welcome. I appreciate the gesture.

The post is awesome @Jackobia.

I appreciate this. Expect more from me sir.

Hello!! Nice post!! ;)

Thank you so much