Sort:  

I've been spending a lot of time in the crypto world lately. 'Tulip mania' comes up a lot (as in, "My mom/friend/coworker tells me I'm stupid for investing in tulip mania").

It's an easy excuse to avoid the entire market.

The common response from crypto believers is "Pfft that's stupid crypto isn't a bubble/isn't even comparable to the tulip phenomenon."

Ironically, 99.9% of people calling crypto 'tulip mania', and 99.9% of the people mocking them claiming it isn't, have zero idea of the how's and why's of what tulip mania was, why it happened, etc.

They know people paid a billion dollars for flowers. That's it.

This article is my new standard I'll be posting anytime I see 'tulip mania' mentioned by either side.

Wow, thanks for this great post. What a super fun read. I knew about Tulipmania, but did not really know how it started or what it was about. And the part about the virus and Tulipmania being infectious? Kind of a bait and switch there, but a clever one to make us believe that the HUMANS were the ones infected but it was really the plants that were infected.

Well that was probably the most interesting thing I'll read today. Thanks for that!

I like to think that the Bitcoin split was done to isolate infected cryptocurrency.

Seriously good article. I think I vaguely knew of the history behind tulipmania, but I wouldn't have guessed a disease caused the prized phenotypes. If virologists existed back then they would have made millions of guilders.

"I like to think that the Bitcoin split was done isolate infected cryptocurrency."

That's an interesting take!

Perhaps I'm just not aware of the research into it if it exists, but I'm actually surprised no one has worked on a tulip that is resistant to the virus. Instead, horticulturists seek to eliminate it. Like the bortyritis fungus that makes some dessert wines, winemakers use the infection to their advantage rather than their detriment. it's the old saying that when life gives you lemons, make lemonade.

The first virologist could have made a fortune, but eventually it would have become too abundant. :) I wonder if anyone tried to color it with some substance or that would have killed the flower even faster anyways.

Nice article. I think both mania were quite different but both have a quite simple root cause called GREED. When prices rise double digit every week everybody want to be aboard :-)

A very interesting read, about Tulip mania. I have actually googled it after reading your article and it has really existed! It's amazing how many new things we can learn from each other here on steemit!

If you touch on any altcoins before 07/2018 you get infected with emptyWalletescleroses therefore, just HOLD the Door!

quite interesting, I did not know the true meaning of this term and all the history that surrounds it

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kerriknox to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I like your post my friend

Good post, thanks for sharing this information on new disease called Tulipmania, i hope that the science that discovered it will also discover the cure, Amen. I follow and upvote you.

Don't worry, 99% of people have the opinion but don't have the knowledge.
If you don't trust me, just ask about the evolution, space, health, medicine...

Cryptos are not the tulips because the tulips are pointless, just nice flowers. And the tulips are not easy to be used as the currency.

From the tulip, you can only make - a tulip. Not a cosmetics, perfume, food while with the crypto you can.

For me, the fiat is the worst thing to HODL. Just look at the car prices. I bought my first car 5 years ago - now I can sell it for the same amount of Euros. I got the second one last year - the value is the same.

Entry level Ferrari was 20.000 in 2010 and now it's 50.000 Eur. And thousands of other examples...

Read the white paper, the blue paper, if it's logical - just do it + HODL

Very interesting article and the way you wrote it made complete sense.

Let's all become part of Tulip Mania 2.0 and exit before the ways go down ;)

I watched some documentaries about the tulip mania but this is the first time I see this information about the TBV. Never would have thought that the real perpetrator were the aphids. I wonder what would be the reaction if they knew that they were done for by insects. Hehe. This post is refreshing to read. Thanks for sharing XD

I had no idea about this, I thought it was just a flowery fashion, but not an actual demand on the market for the rare species.
Everybody to it's own, we all have things we like and we are ready to invest to that likeness whatever we wish, regardless of others with the different taste think about it.

Tulipmania is alive and well! Love this post, keep it up! https://steemit.com/@muscleroast.com