You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is it more profitable to suffer than to let go of a problem?

in #steemstem6 years ago

Hm... have seen the mirror solution a few times. Not so sure I like it that much... plus with no stairs in the building, I'd report the owner to the fire department ;-)

With the "tortured souls", I was actually a little cynical, as I have been around one too many people who used that "excuse" to torture everyone around them. I myself created some things during bad times which I consider special and I probably wouldn't have done them, if things had been good and easy. On the other hand, I have been in such misery, that my work started to look like mud and I knew, I had to change something.. so, it wasn't my art that made me feel better, I made changes to make me feel better to create better art :-) Don't know, if this makes sense..

Haha... well, the porcelain thing is a whole different story. I tell you, if we ever meet in person ;-)

So, I don't think I'm broken or anything. I've been through some tough times, like just about everyone else and I got over it. I'm basically mostly positive 😁 and I like surrealistic thing with a touch of disturbance!

Sort:  

Missed the cynical tone:)

The torturer needs recipients who give enough ground to let them being tortured. One can see the drama queens & kings as a pain in the ... as well as a great chance to develop empathy without becoming sucked into the suffering. Which is a really challenging task to take. My example with Lars was an attempt to show that. It is such a wonderful method to deal with suffering people because others do not pity but take the "disturbed" behavior as it comes around. In this exaggerated example lies a great learning for me. I am always watching out for impressive narratives to get the message transported. The "aha-effect", so to speak.

it wasn't my art that made me feel better, I made changes to make me feel better to create better art :-) Don't know, if this makes sense..

It makes absolutely sense.

I had a client back then who told me that she'll be only able to dance, to have deep connections and enjoy life, once she is healthy again. I told her to ask herself, if it also could be the other way around: That she dances, gets in touch and enjoys the events in her life to become healthy again.

I see that you are anything but broken:)
My assumption was that I think everybody has something of porcelain standing in the cupboard - the pain - and likes to hold on whenever something happens which activates it. Including myself. Otherwise we would be divine, no? For my life experience I never met anyone who is already "awake" or "enlightened". Which I consider as humanly.

Does this make sense to you?

Of course it makes sense :-)

And of course I too have my porcelain in the cupboard... I just refuse to have things that I can't change, pull me down anymore. Most of the time ;-)

When I was young, I always thought I was super stable.. mentally. Then life gave me a few good hits in the face to teach me a lesson and become a bit more modest.

And then again, I was always very lucky too and with all that I found an attitude based on gratitude :-) hahaha... it rhymes! 😁👨‍🎨

:-D

modesty is always good when people reach a certain age and have more past than future. It is kinda strange watching a mid sixty one still acting rebellious and stubborn.

I am totally agreeing with your rhyme :-))

Hahaha... "..mid sixty one still acting rebellious.." sounds funny, when I think of my dad at 79! With him its genuine though 🤠