Hurt My Back Doing Dishes..

in #steemusa6 years ago

IMG_3327.JPG
(I like this photo, it's like I'm saying IDK.)

Where have I been lately?
It's been a couple of days since my last post.
The other night I was hungry and wanted to cook something, but there were no clean dishes. Usually the kids take care of that for me, but they've been so busy with other things they just didn't have time to clean the dishes. Why don't I do the dishes? Two reasons; One, my hands break out in an allergic rash when I do them, unless I use disposable latex gloves. Two, I can't stand up long enough to do enough dishes and cook.

I was flustered the other night and not thinking clearly. I went into the kitchen and started doing the dishes for myself and everyone else. I stood there for over an hour scrubbing dishes and I wasn't yet done. I had hit my twenty minute mark, my pain threshold and forced myself to push past it. I kept pushing until I couldn't stand it anymore. Finally, I was just too shaky and weak to keep standing up. Shivering from the strain and the pain I told everyone I was going to have a lie down. My daughter took over from there.

She cleaned more dishes and then it was my turn to get up and do my thing, cook. I tried to get up out of bed but I couldn't move. My back muscles had locked up. I was laying here totally helpless in my bed, unable to move. My back was spasming too much. I had to take a muscle relaxer and some heavy duty pain medicine. It barely relieved the pain. My daughter cooked for me and everyone else. I've been mostly in bed since then. Watching Netflix and playing video games and reading articles on the internet has been my past time. Getting to the restroom, just a few feet away, has been quite the challenge too. Fortunately I was able to get to the restroom under my own power and take care of business by myself, I didn't need assistance this time. Actually, the last time I needed assistance was right after my last back surgery.

Yesterday was the first day I left the house in a week. I went out with my wife to run some errands and to boost my morale. We went to my favorite store and I was able to finish up my project I've been working on since November. Then we went to eat at our favorite restaurant. With full tummies we came home and I went right back to my bed. I've had muscle relaxers and pain meds regularly since I angered my back again.

Lately I've been playing a new game, well new to me, called Neverwinter on the Xbox One. It's a Dungeons and Dragons game. I'm still learning how the game operates. I started a cleric character and have been playing when I'm not busy sleeping off the medication or watching Netflix. So, that's pretty much what's been going on with me lately. Not a lot to tell really, just same old same old. Aside from me upsetting my back over something as silly as dishes.

Much love and light,
X
IMG_3260.JPG
IMG_3201.PNG

Sort:  

Boy do I get what you are saying. I say
I'm allergic to doing dishes that chore makes me sneeze and my nose runs away. My back even hurts from the stance. That is why I rinse my dishes and stack them up for a once a week washing time. Here I am the only dish dirtier and thank God for all my dirty dishes. Love to you

Dirty dishes just means people are getting fed. If they wish to continue being fed, though, the dishes need to be done. Heard you loud and clear.
Much love and light,
X