Steemwallet's Embeddable Signup Widget - Instant Steem Account Creation On Every Site!

in #steemwallet5 years ago (edited)


Last week I introduced Proof.ink's document hashing service. It was a humble succes and thanks to all your votes we reached the number 3 spot on ProductHunt's daily ranking, thanks for that!

I received a couple of comments about the fact that, as Proof.ink is a product very much for mainstream (or at least beyond the current Steem user-base), it should have the option to register Steem accounts for newcomers instantly on the site itself to make the onboarding as smooth as possible.

I found it a very compelling comment, so I thought about what it would take to enable just that!

Not that long ago I launched my API node for registerring Steem Accounts by processing payments, as used in the in-app payments for the SteemWallet mobile apps, so the private account registration RPC API was already in place. All I needed was to connect it to another payment provider to get card payments rolling and then make it work on the Proof.ink site.

During the brainstorm process I thought it would be more useful to go for a generic approach instead of making and offering the Steem Account Signup widget only to Proof.ink's website. By keeping this in mind I built a widget which can be customised and added as an instant Signup Service to any site or project by simple adding a link(s) and a mere 5kb javascript-src to launch the widget on site, without the need to leave that site.

The end result is an customisable embeddable widget or "On-site Signup App" which you can use straight away to register Steem accounts for a small fee using a Mastercard, Visa or American Express (credit or debit) card (and expandable to other forms of payments in the near future).


Customised signup widgets embedded on 3 of my Steem projects

The widget works by launching a fullscreen overlay to any site where the code is embedded. This launches a foolproof (imho) and straightforward signup process with realtime account validity checking, password validation, optional random password generation and offers a way to download all keys generated, prior to checking out. Then, by submitting card details, the service tries to charge and create the account instantly. Once done, the user has a final chance to save their backup-key file and the account is ready to use.

Here is a video displaying the account signup process on the fly using the embeddable widget (in this case on SteemWhale.io, but could literally be any site):

Add the Steem Account Creation Widget to your site with one line of code!

I've already customised and added the Steemwallet Instant Signup to some of my project sites such as SteemWallet.app, Proof.ink, SteemWhale.io and SolicitingPower. The integration feels natural as you can customise the links displayed and furthermore you can add your own site-name, site-icon and referrer-account to the widget, all easily setup, previewed and live-tested via the Steem Wallet Account Signup Widget configurator.

Benefits of having an embeddable Signup widget on your site:

  • Potential new users don't leave your site
  • The widget itself is customisable with your name, referrer and image
  • You help grow the Steem chain with new signups!

Calling all Steem Site owners who want to offer in-site Instant Steem Signup

Make it easy for new users to signup to the Steem blockchain while keeping them on your site! Add the SteemWallet account signup widget. It's as simple as adding a a href-tag (or multiple), style them as to how you like and then add a small 5kB including javascript near the /body-closing tag.


Screenshot of the Account Signup Widget Configurator

Click here to add the Signup Widget to your site!

Many questions are answered in the FAQ

Ps. If you like what I am doing here, consider a witness vote for '@roelandp' - Thanks!

Sort:  

This is awesome. Going to add it to steem.how in the next week or so!

Posted using Partiko iOS

hey thats cool!

Unstoppable @roelandp ! Joy to watch you launching new things and great too see how you are listening to comments and building things the community inspired you to build!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Developments on the steem blockchain keeps pouring from all directions everyday.

The steem devs are the best!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is brilliant and should be featured on every STEEM site! Look forward to seeing integration across the board

Posted using Partiko iOS

ty jeff! spread the word :)

This is great tool, combining with in-app registration, I see where this is going 👍 Keep up the good work!

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.

Anything that makes it easier for people to join Steem is good and this looks great. I hope it gets widely used.

For your efforts here on #Steem blockchain, you deserve not just my witness vote.

Thanks @roelandp

Very cool! Well done, Roeland!

Great work!
$rewarding 100% 11min

Wow! Thats just dam fucking awesome!!!

I have no tech skills, and really appreciate it when devs come up with something amazing like this, many appreciate the work as we have no clue about dev work ourselves!

Thankyou !!

Edit: @offgridlife, is this something for you?!

Thank you for supporting the Steem community! I resteemed this article.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Another option that @steempeak should look into for adding to their list of signups if they haven't already.

@roelandp just wrote me about this a few hours ago ;)

Nice to hear this. I just posted on @steempeak our signup process that presently has a link to 3 options.

Yes cool, we just crossed eachother I guess. I text asgarth with this option. For implementing this embed widget it's just a link to add basically :)

@roelandp, Definitely an effective development and for sure it will going to expand the potential to onboard new users smoothly and quickly. And most importantly it's easy to join and after joining for sure Steem Ecosystem will going to surprise new users by opportunities which are created and creating everyday, because before we don't had that much innovation but now Steem Ecosystem is transformed and becoming Applications Factory. Keep up and stay blessed.

You're on a roll! Great work <3

That is what i like about steem. Innovation without big Corporation.

Posted using Partiko Android

hey @roelandp, can I please borrow your time to answer my question? it's like this, I put my pass phrase and I'm sure that I remember it. But when I open my account, I put my password then. After I put the password, it ask me what is my pass phrase to unlock. But it didn't work, what is JSON token of I?

Hi Mr nightmare. Sounds like a nightmare is happening in your wallet :(

I am assuming you are talking about the Steemwallet Mobile app for iOS or Android.

What the app does is that it stores your "Private Key" for your "active authority" (also called your Active Private Key) in a so-called "wallet file". Because your private key is your access to the funds the app does not store this private key in plaintext. Instead it asks you to pick a "password" or "passphrase". This password/passphrase is used to safely encrypt your "wallet-file" which can contain 1 or more accounts private keys.

So the passphrase/password used for encrypting your wallet-file is not the same (or should not be) the same as your Steem password or your Steem Active Private Key.

I will look some more in a next update to make this very clear for everyone. It is like the "passcode" to your vault, which stores your private key.

Ps the "Json Token of I" I not complete get, but I think it is the error you see when you try to unlock your wallet with a wrong password/passphrase, as it then tries to use that 'passphrase' to unencrypt your wallet file, but it fails. JSON is the file structure of the wallet-file, so if it unencrypts succesfully it should return parseable JSON again, and not error.

All hope is not lost however. The app also mentions that it should not be the ultimate store for your private key, so I hope you still have your 'active private key' for your account backed up elsewhere, or you can retrieve it here from your "permissions" page right on Steemit.com using your password or owner key.

If you really can't think of the password you used for the wallet-file, you can simple "factory reset" the app by going to the settings menu of the app: Tap the Steem-swirls logo next to where it says "Steemwallet". Then factory reset. Confirm (it will delete your wallet.json file). Then you can "hard exit" the app manually, depending on your operating system you need to swipe to kill from last used apps.

Then restart the Steemwallet app, add your account to monitor, then try to send something and make up a safe passphrase to encrypt your wallet file. Then add the 'active private key', then it asks again for your just setup 'passphrase'.

Let me know how it goes. You can also find me elsewhere for direct messages.

kr roeland

hey @roelandp, can I please borrow your time to answer my question? it's like this, I put my pass phrase and I'm sure that I remember it. But when I open my account, I put my password then. After I put the password, it ask me what is my pass phrase to unlock. But it didn't work, what is JSON token of I?

This update is very important the newcomers will have to register faster without waiting for this will help to grow faster

this video is very important and useful thank you for great informations

A very important topic frankly many new users need this explanation

Simply wow oh Wow!!👊🏼💯💥🙏🏽👍🏼😎🤙🏻🤟🏻🖖🏼🙌🏼✌🏽👊🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

So many really cool and exciting things happening right now on the Steem Blockchain!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

good information, I will try to register it, good luck

You are doing a wonderful job
Thanks again for the useful information @roelandp

Thanks for your good informations 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome news, thank you

Brilliantly useful work! Many thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

That is very helpful post for New Steemians...

Love it... all for easily utilized plug ins and embedded widgiteries for making anything easier...

and to increase growth to the site, this will become a must

This looks fantastic its great to see how so many great developed tools will find their way into all upcoming Apps. I hope your widget will become as successful like Keychain wallet integration.

Hi @roelandp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 8.486 which ranks you at #2 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 221 contributions, your post is ranked at #1. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Your follower network is great!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Another amazing advance born of Steem! Recently we are seeing a lot of great tools for marketing and growing our community that will potentiate great capital gains, and this may be amongst the very best.

I have a couple questions. I don't note that you mentioned accepting payment in Steem or other crypto. Do you? If not, will you? Do you potentiate earnings for referrals? If not, will you? If these two things are going to happen, I predict the growth of this to be completely viral, and I will be amongst the first adopters.

Thanks!

i have not planned receiving payments in steem as you can just use that to create the account yourself instantly.

your q about referrals is answered in the faq on https://steemwallet.app/widget/index.hml#faq

This is exactly what the Steem world needs! We have been saying for a year now that until we remove some of the perceived barriers of entry, we will not have mass adoption.

Hello @roelandp, how much in $ does your account creation cost?

the price will fluctuate mainly with steem price. The current EUR price is 2,42€

Super cool !!!

anything that makes it easier for people to join steem is good and this looks great.i hope gets widely used.

Hi there,
I am trying to send steems from the app. It asks to put Active key in there. Which key is that out of the sevral keys the app suggests to back up in the begining of installation of wallet?
Please help.
By the way I have tried putting the Public active key and the app password as well. Nothing worked.

Also by mistake, I have put private memo key in memo field of the exchange while transferring to wallet.
What could be the risk now?

Hi - we are since yesterday evening in contact and with your help we found an urgent bug I am working on:

Rest assured key creation worked as intended however the API call to crossverify existence of your key on the blockchain using "get_key_reference" is unfortunately not working - leaving you with a "account not found" error.

update: thanks to your help the bugfix went live 24hrs after your report in both Apple & Android stores. Thanks again. this was a nasty one.

Sounds like an awesome tool!

Awesome development, nice work indeed

Posted using Partiko Android

Fantastic, I've just finished reading this post and I think this is such an amazing and useful tool for everyone...😀

Hey Roeland, I hoped to get a little bit appreciation for my painting, but I can understand that you didnt leave a vote for me - i messed the painting a bit up :-D

However, here is my complete list of all Steemit member paintings and you are in it: maybe you wanna have a look.

https://steemit.com/art/@art-universe/complete-list-of-my-steemit-member-paintings-and-drawings

Best, Martin