You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #32

in #steemworld5 years ago

I hope you make certain to let us know when you want our vote for witness.

I'm a little dazed - I'm not used to dealing with the kind of problems Firefox caused everyone today (if you did not see it reported, they blocked all the add-ons) with the result, that I only realised something was wrong when my browser froze and I learnt it had over 300 cookies which were also causing trouble. All the tracking was no longer blocked - and the adverts.

I found that MyPal browser is okay with XP and is still being developed for XP, so I gave it a go and suddenly, for the first time, I can watch html5 videos. It has been 18 hours, but I'm getting there. But, it also helped awaken my empathy when reading of your problems.

A suggestion:
I see that for a new poster to have a voting power of 1c, he must have SP500 ... what a change from when I first joined. This led me to the thought that on your page (the wheel of fortune) it is going to stay at zero for a long time for many. It must be discouraging. How about adding a third number after the dot (0.001). At least they'll then see some movement and maybe feel they are achieving something?

I know that you need an income and I sympathise (I'm a pensioner), but I was thinking of that very young man on Steemit who is being supported by some others as he needs money for his medicine and treatments - just to stay alive. I imagine how his heart sinks as he sees his income drying up and wish I could help - as I feel with you. Would being a witness earn you enough to survive or are you still going to need something extra?

My best wishes remain with you.

Sort:  

I'm a little dazed - I'm not used to dealing with the kind of problems Firefox caused everyone today ...

The Firefox Update didn't affect me yesterday, but now I'm watching ads the first time on Steemit, so it has been rolled out for my system too. They already fixed it and one can enable 'Studies' in the FF Preferences to load a temporary fix, but I prefer to wait for a stable update. I'm now back on Brave...

This led me to the thought that on your page (the wheel of fortune) it is going to stay at zero for a long time for many.

There is a setting for changing the number of displayed decimal places, but I agree that it might be better to set the default value based on the available SP. I will see, if I can change that with one of the next updates.

Would being a witness earn you enough to survive or are you still going to need something extra?

Good question. I think, if I get enough votes, it would earn me a few STEEM per month (with the current prices it won't be much, just a few dollars). Always when I decide to start the witness in the coming days, there is a big price drop that let's me rethink the idea and holds me back.

It's time for STEEM to rise again.
All the best to you ;)