You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Wartime Diary. Seventh day of Russia's invasion of Ukraine. Live update from Kyiv

in #stoprussia2 years ago

You mentioned that you are cold. That is something I have some experience with because of the climate here. You also have lived in a cold place, so this might seem obvious, but these things seem to help a lot:

  1. Wearing many layers. This allows you to take off layers when you warm up, but put them back on when you get cold. I sometimes have worn smaller, more ragged pairs of pants under my other pants to stay warm. I don't know how much clothing you have, but even quite crappy, light, ragged layers can be surprisingly insulating when added to other clothing in my experience. The temperatures here reach negative 20 and less sometimes.

  2. If you can think of a way to warm your clothing, this helps. I am very fortunate because I now have access to an electrical dryer, which was not always the case. However, clothing could be warmed in other ways. For example, when you sleep, you could sleep with it near you under the covers. Of course, this does not work for whatever you must wash.

  3. Do you have Vaseline petroleum jelly (or other petroleum jelly)? If so, this is the best preventative and treatment for chapped lips and skin that I have found. One winter, my lips simply would not heal. They kept cracking and bleeding until I went to the dentist on an unrelated matter. The assistant put petroleum jelly on my lips so they wouldn't bleed during the exam. I was surprised by how much of a relief it was. I have used it ever since. You might not have access to this, but if you have any, I recommend it for lips and any areas of wind burn.

You might already know these things or maybe they are obvious and you cannot do them. I wanted to mention them in case they help or give you some other idea. Sometimes, when we are in crisis, it is hard to think clearly. (Other times, it sharpens the mind.)

!PIZZA
!LUV

Sort:  

I know about cloth indeed, but i can check if anyone here have vaseline. Thanks for the hints!!!

!LUV to you.