You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Wartime Diary. Seventh day of Russia's invasion of Ukraine. Live update from Kyiv

in #stoprussia2 years ago (edited)

Seeing a new post along with a photo eases my mind! Glad to hear you, Nick and the volunteers are holding down in the capital.

I dislike hearing you are chilled to the bone and cannot get warm. Hopefully the hot water and steam from the shower helped. With any luck I catch you before you leave home so you can try this remedy for your cracked lips. Take a small amount of Vaseline, coconut oil, chap stick or even butter and mix with plain sugar until you have a thick paste. Gently scrub onto lips using a soft cloth or tissue. The sugar exfoliates while the oils soothe and prevent chaffing. Rinse lips with water and save whatever is left to use later. Coconut oil could also be applied on the calluses and sores on your body to help heal but you'd need to wrap your hand with a bandage or the oil will make everything slippery.

Do you have any plain coconut water available? It's filled with vitamins and electrolytes to keep you healthy and hydrated. In WW2 plain coconut water was used in hospitals and given to wounded soldiers intravenously when there was not enough saline to re-hydrate them. Something to pass along.

Much love & continued prayers! @zorichka💓

🙏Stay safe!🙏
Slava Ukraini!
💙🇺🇦💛

Sort:  

I don't have coconut oil or coconut water at home. And I can’t buy it anywhere, we are warned all the time during last 2 days that it’s dangerous to go out. Yesterday I saw long queues of people in the street to pharmacies. And I am not sure they have it. But thank you for the idea! I have a very good pure aloe vera gel from Israel, I think I can use it. But when all this nightmare finish, I will buy coconut oil. I had no idea it's so good as healing and care.

Thank you my dear!!!

Thank you for taking time to reply!✍

Yes, it's definitely not the time to go shopping and it sounds like you already have something good to use in the meantime. Pure aloe vera will help heal your blisters and wounds. For the chapping, at least try making a paste using sugar and a little water then gently rub it onto your dry lips. The dead skin will come off and lips will be soft.

How is the food supply there?

Have you had a chance to contact your dear daughter? Any updates on your mom? Hope all is well with them!💓

Is there anything I can do to help? Just name it @zirochka

You are a brave warrior! Stay safe and may God protect you, Nick and the volunteers!🙏

My lips and fingers are little better today, thank you for the idea!

Mom is getting medical care, she is recovering (after surgery) but very slowly. She's worried very much about us. As well as Nat. But ... can't be helped.

Today I finally found a trusted person who can direct money to where they are most needed. I hope to catch her today and talk. And then maybe I will mention.it in the post.

Thank you again and big hugs, dear Nina!! ❤