The boy who lived in the attic -EN-ES- El chico que vivia en el altillo

in #stories10 days ago

¡Hello Hive community!

The magic of architecture is something that never ceases to amaze me. From the most simple and rudimentary to the most complex and sophisticated. Everything is excellent and of my admiration. I was looking for a special place to photograph and I couldn't find anything that genuinely dazzled me. Because let's be honest, there are many works that can be recognized as such, and give them the entity that confers them but to one can not generate anything. And if it doesn't generate anything for you, it doesn't make any sense to dedicate your time to that work. Maybe many times it is not the moment and maybe later you will. But the truth is that it has no fidelity to oneself to give your time to a work that does not generate any restlessness within you.


Finally I found a place that had something different and that caught my attention and I wanted to go and capture the essence of the place. This building is located in the center of the city, on Alem Street. It is the end of the microcentro porteño overlooking Puerto Madero. The view is especially nice but what made me fall in love with it was the place from where I could see the Kirschner cultural center. For me, this building is like my mother. I still can't find an explanation for this, but I feel that with this building that has something like it hosts a space of the city, many strong things happened there. In fact, in case you don't know and you are reading this, this cultural space for many, many years, I don't know how many but about 100 years, this space was the national post office. It drives me crazy to know how many stories must have happened there. Loves, fights, misunderstandings of letters that had to reach an addressee and were never received. Letters, lapidary with bad news. People who worked there and their stories too.


My grandfather worked there for 10 years when he was very young. while working there he met my grandmother, also after working there for many years he was offered the possibility of going to work in a branch of the company in Mar del Plata and the whole family went there and there must be many similar stories like this one.


The truth is that going back to the building that I knew and went to visit when I entered I realized that it was an office building. But the feeling it gave me was of a place where people lived. I felt that there were people there. When we were finishing and leaving, I had that doubt because I had other information than what I felt. We went downstairs and at the entrance of the building was the manager. I couldn't help myself and asked him if anyone had lived there.

When I asked the manager, he looked at me with surprise, and said yes. He told me that many years ago a person had lived there in hiding. So I asked him why and what he was hiding from if he knew more. And he answered me that this person had come exiled from the war and that he had lived very strong things there and one of the owners of the building, a relative of his, took him into his house and hid him there because he was very traumatized and it was the only place where it was safe to live and he lived there until the end of his days.

I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did!


Spanish version


¡Hola comunidad de Hive!

La magia de la arquitectura es algo que no deja de sorprenderme. Desde lo más simple y rudimentario hasta los más complejos y sofisticados. Todo es excelente y de mi admiración. Estuve en busqueda de algun lugar especial para fotografiar y no venía encontrando nada que me deslumbre genuinamente. Porque vamos a ser sinceros, hay muchas obras que pueden reconocerse como tal, y darles la entidad que les confiere pero a uno pueden no generar nada. Y si no te genera nada no tiene ningún sentido dedicarle tu tiempo a esa obra. Quizás muchas veces no es el momento y tal vez más adelante si lo hagas. Pero lo cierto es que no tiene ningún tipo de fidelidad a uno mismo darle su tiempo a una obra que no te genera ninguna inquietud dentro tuyo.

Finalmente encontré un lugar que tenía algo diferente y que captó mi atención y quise ir a captar la esencia del lugar. Este edificio está ubicado en el centro de la ciudad, sobre la calle Alem. Es el final del microcentro porteño con vistas a Puerto Madero. Es especialmente linda la vista pero a mi lo que me enamoró fue el lugar desde donde podía ver el centro cultural Kirschner. Este edificio para mi es como la mama. No le encuentro todavía una explicación a esto, pero siento que con este edificio que tiene algo como que acoge un espacio de la ciudad pasaron muchas cosas fuertes allí. De hecho por si no sabes y estás leyendo esto, este espacio cultural durante muchísimos años, no se cuantos pero unos 100 aproximadamente, este espacio fue el correo nacional. Me vuelve loco saber cuantas historias deben haber pasado allí. Amores, peleas, desencuentros de cartas que tenían que llegar a un destinatario y nunca fueron recibidas. Cartas, lapidarias con malas noticias. Personas que trabajaron allí y sus historias también.

Mi abuelo trabajó allí durante 10 años cuando era muy joven. mientras trabajo ahi conocio a mi abuela, tambien despues de trabajar muchos años le ofrecieron la posibilidad de irse a trabajar a una sucursal de la empresa en Mar del Plata y toda la familia se fue para alla y asi como esta debe haber muchísimas historias similares.

Lo cierto es que volviendo al edificio que conocí y fui a visitar al entrar me di cuenta que era un edificio de oficinas. Pero la sensación que me generaba era de un lugar en donde se vivió. Yo sentía que ahí había gente. Cuando fuimos terminando y yéndonos de ahí, tenía esa duda porque tenía otra información de la que sentía. Bajamos y en la entrada del edificio estaba el encargado. No me pude aguantar y le pregunté si alguien había vivido ahí.

Cuando le pregunté al encargado me miró con sorpresa, y me respondió que sí. Me dijo que hace muchos años había vivido una persona ahí escondida. Entonces le pregunte porque y de que se escondía si sabia mas. Y me respondió que esa persona había venido exiliada de la guerra y que había vivido cosas muy fuertes allí y uno de los dueños del edificio pariente de él lo asilo en su casa y lo oculto ahí porque estaba muy traumado y era en el único lugar en donde se vivía seguro y vivió allí hasta el fin de sus días.

¡Espero que lo hayan disfrutado tanto como yo!

banner-alfty-bueno.jpg


Originally posted on DClub Community Articles. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.