To walk down every road I set my eyes upon

in #stories7 years ago

IMG_4601.jpg

Living a solitary life is not for everyone. It is also not particularly by one's own design. Of course one could argue that on a spiritual level, we are all exactly where where we are meant to be, but we won't know this until after the end.

Mostly it's a good experience where one lives as a natural a life as one can. I happen to work from home, which makes it even more solitary, though of course being a hill dweller, I have cats, three of them, which are a company in their own furry way. I have a couple of neighbours that I see occasionally, and we pass some pleasantries about the weather, how the crops are coming along. It's nice. A community of sorts, but one that meets only by accident.

I don't grow my own food, though I do have a poly tunnel. The tunnel has only lavender, jasmine and grapes growing in it. It's where I hang out on my straw bale sofa that I made, reading Charle Bukowski and great tea. I grow apples, or rather they grow them selves, I just planted them.

I work on servers and run my own business, so tech is natural to me, and has been for 25 years now. I have travelled the world, and lived in various different countries, but for the moment I am living where I was born. Back on the hill, away from a world that edges ever closer with it's violent extremes of love and hate.