Hospital Watch

in #story-mentor6 years ago (edited)

I work with terminally ill people.

I have to do my rounds at odd times of the day or night and I am always on call – no exception.

34285706830_2aa884d7d9_b.jpg

I don’t get chance to befriend the people I work with. They aren’t around long enough, but I do sometimes get to pass a few minutes with them, if they want to chat.

Of course, because the people are so desperately ill, I’m quiet and respectful at all times. Also, when they call to me, I listen rather than chatter about myself because they may not have another opportunity – sometimes I think they realise this and that’s why they talk to me, a complete stranger, not even one of their usual nurses.

Last night, a lady called out to me as I passed her room.

“I’ll be back in a sec, one patient to see, then I’ll be right with you,” I said.

She nodded and leaned back into the hollow of the pillow.

She was dozing when I went back to see if she still wanted me. She woke up as though she knew I was there. She nodded for me to come in and I went to her bedside, on the opposite side to her machines monitoring her.

“You know,” she said in a slow, patient manner. “These nurses work so hard.”

images.jpeg

I nodded and she reached for my hand. I clasped hers in mine and she looked at me, smiling.

It makes a nice change for someone to smile at you when you’re used to annoyance because they’re scared or in pain, so I stood and waited beside her.

“They work so hard,” she said again and I was beginning to think she’d lost her marbles, but she looked up at me and smiled.

“Don’t let them work too hard on me, will you?” she said and her hand slipped from mine, she closed her eyes and the machines went NUTS!

Two nurses ran in and one started to perform CPR on the old lady that had been speaking to me.

I watched the old lady rise from her frail, worn-out body. She was like a faded version of her former self. She did look young though. The pain had dropped from her expression and she looked positively sprightly.

She looked at the nurse trying hard to bring her back and then she winked at me!

She tapped the nurse on the shoulder and shook her head when the young woman looked at her. The old lady knew the nurse wouldn’t hear her, but she was determined that she should see her and she didn’t want that nurse to work so hard on a lost cause.

d0f35fca258f5cca97a237f70eb58d2f.jpg

The nurse saw the lady and her mouth dropped open and she stepped back, away from the mortal remains.

“I’m ready now,” the old lady said. “Will you take me to see my husband now?”

“Yes,” I said. “He’s been waiting for you.”

I work with the terminally ill. Sometimes they’re pleased to see me, but mostly they aren’t.

I forgot to mention... pictures are from Google.

Sort:  

Its really a great story. Its a great help for the humanity. thanks for sharing such a valuable post.

You got a 100.00% upvote from @thebot courtesy of @haseeb96!
I have 10% guaranteed positive return on bids to help minnows.
Delegate me to get 95% profit | 10 SP, 20 SP, 30 SP, 40 SP, 50 SP, 75 SP, 100 SP, 150 SP, 200 SP, 250 SP, 300 SP, 400 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Fill in any SP.

You got me. Right up to the last two paragraphs, I thought this was a true story. Loved the little twist in the tail.

EDIT - I've just read the other comments, and want you to know that the story wasn't a failure - I got it! I think the people who didn't get it at all are those whose first language isn't English. Or they didn't read all the way to the end (or maybe at all).

help yourself by helping others , all the best

Very impressed with your story, thank you for sharing.

Thank you. How about upvoting it if you enjoyed the story?

Forgive me friend, I really enjoy the story, so I forgot to give you upvote

Helping humanity is really an act of kindness and its worth appreciating. You have written a heart touching piece of writing. Much appreciated!

wao.may you help them find their smile when all they feel is pain

@michelle.gent did not send me to upvote you...I did it on my own...enjoyed your post.

Do you really work with terminally ill or is this a story only?

It's a story. But thank you for not knowing for real :)

Looking at the replies, I think this story is a bit of a failure.

I was trying to make it clear (in a subtle way) that it was Death that works there (not me).

Sorry.

Don't be sorry, it was an excellent piece of writing.

I think sometimes, a story needs to be read a couple or three times in order to see all the detail.

I got it too. Nice :)

Health care is service to humanity. Keep serving humanity in geriatrics!

I like your pics and follow plz you like my pics and follow thanks

Incredibly, I really like your writing and please permit me to share it

This is really a good story. The twist at the end made it better. Keep up the good work. Looking forward for more stories from you.