My Story | Part II Of IV | Life Is A Sea Of Endless Transition

in #story7 years ago (edited)

As I began to put my life back together from mistakes I'd made in my youth, I noticed themes and patterns emerge. Typically leading me each time to a better understanding If I'd listen and follow.

       When I was a child I was so full of wonder...
      

I used to lie in the yard and stare up at the puffy white clouds, by myself, sometimes for what felt like hours.

Lost, in tranquility and daydreams. It was a place where time stood still just for me and space was infinite. My dreams were vivid, my heart was pure and my potential was unbounded. I could grow to be anything I desired.

In a time before the internet and all of the endless digital distractions/escapes.

In that moment I could simply connect, imagine in images or in feeling. It's a funny thing how our consciousness grows, evolves and expands, takes on new forms and shape and in many ways maybe we're just searching for what we lost along the way, to get back to that child-like state and sustain a version of it within our fully grown selves.

“Listen to the mustn'ts, child. Listen to the don'ts. Listen to the shouldn'ts, the impossibles, the won'ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me... Anything can happen, child. Anything can be.”

As we grow older we naturally lose some of this child-like wonder, it no longer emanates through us so freely and unencumbered. With the sum total of the events, circumstances, and thoughts, actions deeds and relationships in our lives we accumulate and even maintain a certain amount of baggage, that must be worked through sorted out and let go of. I've touched on some of my own personal issues, I'm working through here: https://is.gd/F0zIsa

Sometimes, it's good to look back.
To know the past, not get stuck in it.

Lately, I've been going through a fairly profound shift and transition, the most recent of many. I may be getting back to something like that childlike state, with the wisdom and experience I've gathered, though it was dampened for a time, it was never lost.

It feels a lot like calm amidst the storm of life.
I might add, the seas have been rough lately and I've surprised (even scared myself how calm I can be while working toward a solution to whatever is in front of me - even when it appears as though the ship is sinking.

I'll go into further detail on this in the next part. Suffice to say, through it all I will prevail.

This was a follow-up to the first part here: https://is.gd/IDpUr1
This concludes Part II Thanks for reading.

Stay Golden,
Adam

Sort:  

Congratulations @adamthor! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice post, i followed your account, please follow me at @mrrandy

I totally relate to what you are explaining! I work in similar ways, using art... nice to find you!

Thank you romanie, I just recovered this acct. My story has only gotten stranger since I wrote this.

  • Likewise.