Was there a time you almost lost your life?

in #story4 years ago

Yes 9 years ago I would have died at a railway station.

undefined

I was 20, careless and immature. I was pretty careless for most things in life at that point. I was working in Mumbai at the time, just starting out my career at a small company.

Everyday I had to catch a train and travel an hour to get to my office and back. It was tiring but also fun since it felt like freedom to me since I was travelling alone most of the time. I prefer that to be honest.

One evening after work, I reach the station close to my home. I notice that my friend who is also from my office has jumped on to the railway tracks (yeah with no care about safety) to cross the tracks. The houses are across the tracks. Usually I take the small bridge that would safely take us above and to the other side but that day my mind was loose.

With my eyes solely focused on him, I wanted to run behind him and give him a surprise.

I had just started to lift my feet and was trying to jump down on to the railway tracks and then I felt a painful jolt through my neck. Someone standing close to me held me by the collar of my shirt and pulled me back. I fell down on my back and looked up. A full speed train whizzed passed us all. I lied down in shock, my legs trembling. I couldn't process what was going on.

Meanwhile the by standers near me were shouting at me at how close I was to death and how careless I was.

"Are you attempting suicide? stupid" shouted several women and security personnel.

I didn't care, I thanked profusely the guy who had pulled me back to life, pulled me back to give me the chance to enjoy life. I felt like I was reborn to the world. I am now extra careful of whatever I do and extra thankful for letting me see my loved ones again.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ashwinpremnath! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!