A SUCCESS STORY - my Journey and my Book.

in #story6 years ago

Quite a piece of an experience, a bewildered journey from a poor home to a home of riches. There I stood everyday wondering how I can make it, how to build that glass house and make my family proud. At least the smile from mama is worth over a million dollars to me.

In my grass root I was born in the south eastern part of Nigeria, a very popular tribe called the Igbos, of cos other tribes in the country attribute us as the most successful, for me I’m seeing the hard work beneath since the tribe has been demoted in terms of political rules and governance. My name is Azozie Ebube, last in the family of five, currently a Mechanical Engineering graduate of Federal University of Technology, Owerri Nigeria.

My journey to success entails the discovery of my talent and crowning it with a payroll. This friend of mine walked up into my apartment in school then I was in my finals to be precise broke as ever, you know that life of a student from a poor background, “have u heard of fiverr? ” he screamed with excitement. I replied no, he narrated how a friend of his is making a living out of it just by rendering services to the westerners from Nigeria. I was keen on the kind of services, I wasn’t ready to hook up into any illegitimate work since my religion and faith is against such. I asked “the services are they legal?” he nodded his head and went further by giving me the URL to the site for me to dig the rest on my own. Thank god for google and internet as a whole.

Registered after much detailed survey of the site, decided to put up poetry in my gig since I can easily type with my phone and the portability. You know in Nigeria, seeing or having electricity is like a miracle. I got my first job after 4 days with lots of revisions on my profile and gig description, to be honest I was scared and naïve thinking how I can deliver this job perfect knowing the things involved like ratings and the customer reviews. Called a friend that I know that is into poetry, he put me through in some few things, then I delivered …..Boom!!! The client was so happy by the work, I got my first tip right on my first job. Lol it was like igniting a fuel in a combustion chamber.

Sometime from last year to this day I have made over a thousand dollars writing poems to client, tho it might sound ridiculous or cheap to you but in my home country is quite a whole lot of money.

I might not have gotten the riches or to the place I aspire to be in life but I know I know within myself I must surely get there.

My first publication
https://www.amazon.com/dp/1980565864/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1521224868&sr=8-4&keywords=poetry+for+the+mind
This book ‘Poetry for the Mind’ vol 1, which represents the whole splendid culture and doctrine in the Africa as a continent, treating 10 different aspects of lifestyle in the African society. The book of poem has three specific aims, the first is to promote the African culture knowing its positive sides and possible ways to amend the deficits as clearly written in the poems. The second aim is to show and express how it feels living or being in the African society, the realities and the struggles beneath. Lastly the third aim is to promote and encourage the use of literature - poetry which seems to be dying out within our youths. Poetry opens one's mind to variety of ideas, the nature and principles of life, “to me, I take it as part of meditation as it increases one's sense of humor.”
You can order copy
modified covr page other copy.jpg
https://www.amazon.com/dp/1980565864/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1521224868&sr=8-4&keywords=poetry+for+the+mind

upvote, share or resteem

follow@azozie

dedicated to all the lovers of poetry