In korea : A Vietnam worker to be Taekwondo master

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Story no.1

Hello everyone.

I dreams of a video magazine about people and culture in Youtube. But when I make video, I realize that I can not put all the stories in it, so I want to put it on the Steemit. Please enjoy the story : D

As a first story, I would like to introduce Mr. Nguyen Haidang, a Vietnamese worker. Mr. Haidang has been working as a foreign worker in Korea since 2008. He came as a worker, but he did not just work. He has a new dream, and He is running toward that dream. There are 2 million foreign workers in Korea. This is the story for them.

- When did you come to Korea?

I came in 2008. I came to work in Korea to make money.
My acquaintances told me about Korea and I watched it on TV.

- What did you do before you came to Korea?

Before I came to Korea, I was a student. high school student. After graduating from school, I came to Korea after studying Korean and passing the language test conducted by the Ministry of Justice.

- What kind of person was Mr. Haigang during his school days?

It was normal. I went to school, hang out with my friends, and had fun without much thought. I was very comfortable then.

하이당 커버이미지.jpeg

- When did you begin to learn Taekwondo?

It was the first time since I came to Korea. I liked Taekwondo in martial arts. I often watched a lot of Taekwondo videos on TV when I was in Vietnam. So I wanted to learn, but there was no money in my hometown, and I did not have time to go because the academy was far away. However, when I came to Korea, I fortunately found the Academy program for foreign workers which is run by the Multicultural Support Center.

- It is not easy to exercise everyday after hard work. How do you exercise consistently?

The biggest reason was for health. I'm in good health now. Before Taekwondo, I was really weak. I have always had a headache and stomache, but when I began Taekwondo, everything has gone, and it made me possible to harder work. Another reason is that I like the kick of Taekwondo. I like all kicking movements. As the kick technique improve, it was joyful. So I continue.

하이당 브런치 이미지2.jpeg

- Is there any cultural difference in following Taekwondo manner?

Nope. I like Taekwondo manner. I always like to say hello to my master and seniors, and to make my mind better. I do not have bad thoughts, I do not do bad things, and I'm thinking "What's always good?"

- How do you respond to Vietnamese friends when you learn Taekwondo?

My friends say, "How gorgeous you can do Taekwondo! Come on and teach my daughter and son!"

- Do you have any problem in living in Korea?

I am satisfied. Koreans are kind and nice people. My colleagues is also good and I totally feel comfortable with Korean culture. But I want to see my parents every day no matter how good Korea is and I want to go to Vietnam.

하이당 브런치 이미지1.jpeg

- What is your plan after you come back in Vietnam?

I would like to establish Taekwondo academy. For that purpose, I earn money by working hard now. I plan to return to Vietnam in three to five years.

- Why do you want to teach Taekwondo in Vietnam?

There are many people who want to learn in Vietnam, But there are few Taekwondo academy. If I teach Taekwondo to Vietnamese people, They will have good thoughts and good health. Also, there will be a lot of things they can do.

- Is it fun to learn with people from other countries?

When I first came to Korea, I was scared because there were many people from various countries. But in this academy, I met many people from the Philippines, Indonesia, and so on, so now it is fun.

하이당 브런치 이미지3.jpeg

- Do you have any other goal?

I want to get married. I have a girlfriend who hang out for 2 years. I met her in Korea, but Her hometown is close to our town in Vietnam. When I return to Vietnam, I am going to marry her right away.

- What do you want to say last?

I would like to teach the children well and participate in the competition, and I hope that these friends can win medals.

If you wonder more,
Visit our youtube channel : https://goo.gl/6ZxhA3