Mother of Sri Lanka workers

in #story6 years ago

Story No. 2

If you have some problem when you work other country, how you do this. Especially, if you don't know the country language and you don't have any information to solve the problem, how you solve it.

Iranganie Rajapaksha lives in korea. She married with korean man and has two children. Now, her job is just Sri Lankan intepreter, but she solves many problems of Sri Lanka workers such as wage, injury and visa. That's why the workers call mother of us.

- Please, Introduce yourself.

I'm Ira from Sri Lanka. Ira is korea name. Iranganie Rajapaksha is full name.
When I was 19, I met my husband and came to Korea. I live in korea for 15 years.
Also, I have two children.

- What did you feel when you heard that you have to live in korea?

When I heard that I have to go korea, I was heartbroken because I don't know any korean language and culture, even I couldn't cook korean food. So, I've always been home for years. However, over time, I could speak Korean fluently and totally understand korea culture in the end. Rather, I feel that korea is more calm than Sri Lanka now.

vlcsnap-2018-01-11-05h50m16s869.png

- How did you become a interpreter?

I had information from a company owner. he said "There is 'Foreign Residents Center' in Ansan City and they need a Sri Lanka interpreter". Before that, I sometimes did part-time job. Because, in the past, there were a pretty few people to speak korean among Sri Lanka workers. For years, Sri Lanka workers to earn money in korea increase much more. Therefore, our center needed full-time employee and they asked me to help.

- A lot of people find you in a day, I guess that you are really hard to work.

At first, it was difficult. Even I was considered about whether I should keep going here because I thought it was just a translator work, but this work was to solve complex problems. However, many Sri Lankan friends visited and asked for help. They often said "We don't worry anything because of you." At the time, I thought "I'm doing something for someone else." That's why I have been working here for 7 years.

vlcsnap-2018-01-11-05h50m29s528.png

- Except for interpretor role, you are doing many things.
Yes. I think that the workers are young and they are separated from their families, so, they seem to be lonely. I thought how these friends are able to adapt Korea without being lonely and I made community which can help them with some friends.

For example there is 'cricket.' which is favorite sports in Sri Lanka. The workers do it together on every weekends to relive stress. Even there is a tournament. Also, there are many buddhist temples in Korea because Sri Lanka is Buddhist country. We invite Sri Lanka monks and worship with them. Now, the workers are adapting more and more.

vlcsnap-2018-01-11-08h46m37s552.png

- Why do the young people come to korea for working?

As you know, Sri Lanka's economy is not good. The salary is too low to live. Our country is just a small island. the young people still have to support their family, So they choose other country to work. Korea has best condition to work than other country. Companies provide meal, dormitory and insuarance. Of course, culture is very different, but it overcome. Our community can help to adapt.

vlcsnap-2018-01-11-05h50m03s287.png

- What is your role of community?

I'm working in officer of Ansan city. Therefore, I can plan governant support program to give a practical help and I can solve their problems such as language, salary, injury and visa. The workers sometimes say to me, "you are a unofficial ambassador to us." So I just tell them, "I'm just doing a role of your mother."

- When do you feel worthwhile?

Sometimes, their families living in Sri Lanka call to me and they say that they feel gratitude to me. I think that it is evidence that the workers really is adapting living in this country, So I feel worthwhile at the time.

vlcsnap-2018-01-11-05h10m46s062.png

- What is your goal of this?

The workers age is similar with my children. So, They feel like my children. I want to help them as a mother or a sister in order to be adapted well. I just want to keep doing. A few years later, though not now, I want to establish poor house for poor with community friends in Sri Lanka. Even though It is a small house, I will do it. My dream is that.

If you wonder more,
Visit our youtube channel : https://goo.gl/6ZxhA3