Honey I almost burned the house down

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Yes! Yes! I am a clumsy little b#tch! 

I almost set the house on fire today!

So here I am in the dining room trying to set a romantic dinner for me and my man. The children would have a sleepover at the in-laws. 

I am in the kitchen, prepare some yummy food for him (meatloaf with country potatoes and some yoghurt-mayo sauce and a green salad to go with all these). I have the wine getting cold. Desert is in the fridge (ice cream with fresh chopped fruit and chocolate syrup, mmmm!).

And what is left for me to do? Set the table. I put the dishes, knives and forks, glasses and stuff and I light some candles because I want it all to be romantic. I even put some decorative flowers on the table next to the candles and then go to my room to freshen up. 

The moment I am coming back in the dining room I can smell smoke. I think that I might have left the window open and the neighbor's son is setting weed on fire again (this boy loves to see things burn). But no! It was not the boy. It was my table!!!!

The candles set the cloth and plastic flowers on fire. Thank Lord! I took the couch cover and put the fire out before it expanded. When hubby came back I smellt like roast beef (LOL). The table cloth was burnt, the table has burning marks but at least I saved the house.

Silly me! I will never leave lit candles when I leave a room!

The rest of you, be careful!

Thank you for reading, if anyone happens to come across :-)

                                                                                         

Image 1 from:

https://pxhere.com/en/photo/1202275

Image 2 from:

https://pixabay.com/el/%CF%81%CE%BF%CE%BB%CF%8C-%CE%BA%CE%B9%CE%BC%CE%AC-%CE%B9%CF%84%CE%B1%CE%BB%CE%B9%CE%BA%CE%AE-%CE%BA%CE%BF%CF%85%CE%B6%CE%AF%CE%BD%CE%B1-%CF%80%CE%B9%CE%AC%CF%84%CE%BF-1978557/

Image 3 from:

https://pixabay.com/el/%CF%86%CF%89%CF%84%CE%B9%CE%AC-%CF%86%CE%BB%CF%8C%CE%B3%CE%B5%CF%82-%CE%BA%CF%8C%CE%BA%CE%BA%CE%B9%CE%BD%CE%BF-hot-%CE%AD%CE%B3%CE%BA%CE%B1%CF%85%CE%BC%CE%B1-2821775/

Sort:  

Congratulations @blackdahlia! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Wow! Thank you!

Congratulations @blackdahlia! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!