The day I got lost in the woods

in #story6 years ago (edited)

I love going hiking in the nearby forest. I put my trecking shoes on and my mp3 fixed on my belt. I try to do it every time my husband can take care of the kids for an hour or two. I need to relax and free my mind from thoughts.

But last week while I was walking the regular path I decided to take another turn for a change. Everything was good I seemed to be heading towards a familiar part of my usual trecking path, only I was in a detour. As I kept walking and walking the scenery did not look all so familiar. 

I started to panic. It was getting dark and my phone had poor reception. I was wondering where I should head to. I just kept walking and walking for about an hour tired and afraid but finally I remembered a sign. It was a tree with a weird hollow trunk. I took a very good look to make sure it was the right tree and from there on I took the right turn and I am never ever going to improvise when I go hiking alone again.

                                                                                                                                 

Source of image

https://pixabay.com/el/%CE%BE%CF%8D%CE%BB%CE%B1-%CE%B4%CE%AD%CE%BD%CF%84%CF%81%CE%B1-%CE%BC%CE%BF%CE%BD%CE%BF%CF%80%CE%AC%CF%84%CE%B9-%CE%B4%CE%AC%CF%83%CE%BF%CF%82-%CF%80%CF%81%CE%AC%CF%83%CE%B9%CE%BD%CE%BF-945405/

Sort:  

Lucky you found that tree with the hollow trunk

Indeed very lucky!!! I was about to start crying. I will never ever take unknown routes again!!!

Or… download an off the trail ap to your phone and just make sure to stay in good signal range to explore. 😎