The day I started and quit smoking

in #story5 years ago

It’s a gloriously sunny afternoon sometime in the mid-‘80s. The front door of the four story house is wide open. I sneak out when the coast seems clear and enter the front porch. There isn't a soul in sight. I roll my chair close to the table, on which an ash-tray, a lighter, and a pack of cigarettes lay. Both my father and one of grandfathers smoked quite a bit (interestingly, none of the women in my family did). For a long time I had wanted to try too and here was finally my chance.  

My feeling of thrill mounting, I furtively pull out a cigarette and grab the lighter, trying to be as quiet and fast as I could. I wheel myself over to enter the outdoor elevator and nervously press and hold the button to go down to ground level. I go around the house to the back yard. I hide behind the hut made of a crate.  

With great excitement I light the cigarette and take a few puffs. I cough for a while. After several more puffs I begin coughing uncontrollably and throw the barely smoked cigarette into the ground. It takes almost a whole minute to completely cease coughing. I never smoked again after that, I broke the pattern of the men in the house. 


Hey smoker, your time is up! by Raxon Rex is licensed under CC by 2.0
Sort:  

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 99.39% Upvote. Send 0.5 SBD or STEEM to @steemvote

Hello @bolko! This is a friendly reminder that a Partiko user has just followed you! Congratulations!

To get realtime push notification on your phone about new followers in the future, download and login Partiko using the link below. You will also get 3000 Partiko Points for free, and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

UpvoteBank
Your upvote bank
__2.jpgThis post have been upvoted by the @UpvoteBank service. Want to know more and receive "free" upvotes click here

Resteemed.
Well... I like your post... Simple and direct to the point.

And I advise you to quite smoking

With great excitement I light the cigarette and take a few puffs. I cough for a while.

When someone stop smoking; that day is his second birth day. for me, He can celebrate it legally as his second birth day. Now you are transformed and became new being. Congratulation!!!

Glory! you've been living a new life since the mid 80s, how gladsome will it be, if smokers that read this post could desist from smoking??? God that brought you into light will never forsake you and those that are still in the act would be divinely convinced...

Good one never smoking again :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Try hard to give up never give up

Posted using Partiko Android

  • You have received a resteem. My 6900 followers will see your post afresh. Thank you for joining my discord server.


🔥Hot posts🔥 from our Gold members

You did good
I smoked 2 years, from 14 to 16, and quitted because its useless and I was spending too many money for nothing

This way I had more money for weed

You got a 12.68% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @minnowpond!

@dailyupvotes is the only bot with guaranteed ROI of at least 1%

Congratulations @bolko! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

So smoking isn’t cool?!

Posted using Partiko iOS


@bolko, sorry to see you have less Steem Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Red Fish!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hello @bolko! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko