"My Life As a Caregiver Blog" Remembering 24 hours in Paris...

in #story7 years ago (edited)

paris paris.jpg
It's almost 8 am and just about time to start my morning routine taking care of my dad. We had an issue with his c-pap yesterday but I was able to talk with the respiratory therapist and she was able to help me resolve the issue over the phone. C-paps can be complicated but so worth the hassle because sleep apnea can be a very serious problem. Thankfully, the c-pap machine helps to prevent a whole host of health problems that would otherwise be an issue.
When I woke up this morning, I remember a special trip that I took that I would like to share with you. You know, memories are a wonderful thing and a way for us to go back in time and recall special times in our lives!

When I was in my 20's and and early 30's my parents, sister and I would often take missionary trips to Romania. We spent most of our time in small villages helping the local people and bringing them encouragement and a helping hand. I hope to share with you more about our experiences as missionaries in a future post. In this post, however, I'd like to share with you about an experience that we had while traveling back to the United States.
2008 would be our last mission trip to Romania and Air France was the airline that we took. On the way to Romania, we had a 2 hour layover in Paris which was barely enough time to transfer from transatlantic flight from Atlanta to our flight that would take us to Bucharest, Romania. A few weeks later, on our way back to the States, we experienced a flight delay that turned out to be an unforgettable opportunity for us. What would you do if you were stuck in Paris for 24 hours? Exactly! We weren't going to spend the entire time in an airport hotel so we decided to make the most of it and see this great city that we had heard so much about! Charles de Gaulle Airport is located just outside of Paris so we needed to find some transportation and make our way there!
We didn't have much extra money....Maybe $100 dollars, but we figured that we could still enjoy Paris and make some lasting memories! The first thing we had to do was buy some all-day subway/bus passes to give us access throughout the city. The subways were packed and so were the buses but we still managed to grabb a seat and hang on for the ride! Everybody told us that the food in Paris was wonderful and we definitely wanted to enjoy some amazing food without blowing all of our money in the process. Now, you wouldn't think it, but McDonald's in Paris is fine dining as compared to the United States. We each had a sandwich which had gourmet cheese and mushrooms and veggies on delicious ciabatta bread.
sandwhich.jpg
Yes, all of this at McDonald's! After that, we spent the day window shopping and seeing sights throughout the city that didn't cost.
arch.jpg
We didn't travel up the Eiffel Tower, but we were able to visit the grounds surrounding it and it was truly a spectacular place. It was just as impressive in person as it was on all of the movies I had seen beforehand.
paris 3.jpg

Before we knew it, the day had come to and end and I spent my last euro to use the public restroom before having to return to the airport. That's right.....Some of the public restrooms require you to pay for using their facilities. Hey, when you gotta go you gotta go and money didn't matter at that point...ha ha!

My dad was able to walk back then because it was a few years before his stroke. We could have made the decision not to spend that special day in Paris, but I'm so glad we did because I still remember that wonderful day that I got to spend with my mom, dad and sister. As beautiful as Paris was, I think the most touching part of the experience was being able to spend those moments together.
They say that Paris is the "City of Love" and while I know that most people refer to that in a romantic context, I believe it can also refer to other kinds of love, as well. The love of family, the love of friends, and people you care about....Not just candle-lit dinners with your valentine.
Don't put off taking that trip or spending time with the people you care about. Seize the moment...seize the day and always make the most of it!
It's 8:25 and It's time for me to start the morning vitals checks for my dad and get rolling. I hope you enjoyed my story as much as I enjoyed sharing it.

If you enjoyed this post, then feel free to upvote, resteem or comment below.

Have a wonderful day!

Sort:  

Great story!

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it!

You are welcome.

I'm a caregiver as well for my wife's parents. I hope to write about that a near-future post. Some does and don'ts if you will.