I Lied To My Boss...

in #story7 years ago

Hello all, so I'm sure we've all done it: Lying to your boss to get out of work. And I'm not just talking about calling in and pretending to be sick to get the day off... I took it a little bit further putting my A Level drama skills into use in order to get 4 days off work. Let me explain in a little more depth...

I had filled in a holiday form to try and get these four days off, because I am supposed to be going and seeing my boyfriend race in a triathlon up in the Lake District. Apparently I hadn't given enough notice (Even though I told them like 2 months in advance), but anyway, my boss handed the slip back to me and I panicked, knowing how desperately my boyfriend wanted me to be there for the support.

My first thought was to call in sick when the time came around, however this would be incredibly obvious and I'm most probably get fired, or at least in a lot of trouble. Then a genius (or perhaps quite the opposite) idea came into my head. I was going to come up with an elaborate excuse that my boss just couldn't deny. A funeral. I mean, it was perfect, you can't be denied leave to go to a funeral; so, in my most honest and saddest voice that I could possibly put on, I told him just that.

Although I hadn't really thought my plan through all that well, because the next question that I was asked was, 'So why do you need FOUR days?' Again, panicky Charlie blurts out, 'Because the funeral's in Scotland!' And my boss actually fell for it. I mean, how gullible can you get? I felt incredibly bad afterwards, but don't have any regrets. I've just got to make sure that I don't post any pictures of me and my boyfriend on either of our social medias, because I have my colleagues on there.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed reading this quick story. If you did, make sure you give this post an upvote, a comment and a resteem. Follow me if you want to read similar posts in the future! As always, thanks so much for reading and I hope you all have a fab day. Xx

Sort:  

Pretty good lies.
Be careful not to get caught

Hi Pinocchio. Lol. Good story 👍

Congratulations @charliesydney! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I hope that your boss isn't on Steemit ;-)