THE STOLEN BRIDE

in #story6 years ago (edited)

News had spread everywhere about something that was not true. It's a wonder how rumor could spread so fast.

SAM_0338.JPG

It all started when a close friend made up his mind to tie the knot with a lovely lady he's dated for sometime. I was still living as a bachelor and had not yet made plans to settle down. This was a great news if one of the four best friends decide to settle down now.

For me, I believe the hardest decision to make is choosing a life partner but I honestly I knew my friend made the right choice. I knew the lady for she happened to be a close friend too.

The wedding was so lovely with guest coming in their numbers coupled with melodious songs. I really love to talk and to entertain people and so I was chosen to be the MC for this memorable program. The place was now glaring with gold and orange colours and guest coming in their numbers either in suits or in African wear.

SAM_0340.JPG

Three of the four friends

One thing I have realised to be so common and so true about wedding is the kind of joy and the love it brings especially to the couples. There are smiles filled with joy on everyone's face. It is hard to see someone crying at a wedding, if you ever see one then it's tears of joy.
Like every weddings there is always photo shoot at end of the event. The family of both couples came and took pictures likewise the invitees and everyone who love to be found in the couple's photo album.

THE PICTURE THAT EVENTUALLY BROUGHT A CONFUSION

I decided to have a nice picture with the beautiful bride for I couldn't just be there and not be in any of the pictures. Both the groom and the bride were my close friends and this will be a great time to make memories.
Can I have a picture with you? I requested. With a quick response she said "that will be great my husband"....I felt like the groom when she said that. I hurriedly stood close to her and we took this picture

I took this lovely picture with the bride.

cc123 (161).jpg

Wow! it still reminds of those moments I saw a wide smiles on her face. She had waited so long for her dream of finding a life partner to be fulfilled and it was clear that she was happier than any of us.

THEN THE UNEXPECTED HAPPENED

I uploaded this picture in one of my albums on Facebook and soon I received unexpected comments here and there. Here are some I could recall :

Wow! man that's great, your wedding was so beautiful! congratulations!

Collins when did you marry?

Your wife is very beautiful, you have good eyes

God bless you and your marriage, you made the right choice.

You could have at least send us invite, anyway congrats!

You are finally a man , it's good you chose one... congrats.

"Ewiase paa nie?" meaning "is that how the world is "? charlie you marry and never invited us.. ok

Aaaaaw! so lovely, I wish I was there at your wedding, so beautiful, congrats Collins!

Many messages with many likes I received. Some felt disappointed that I never shared anything about the wedding before whiles others were so happy to see that I had a wedding. I was so confused concerning what I should do now, should I delete the picture? If I do so what will those who felt disappointed think for I misrepresented my own self.

Should I just reply them that I never had any wedding? Not everyone will believe so, but I decided to upload more pictures from the wedding scenes to speak on my behalf. I thought it was the only good way out to defend myself. People who were so disappointed in me for not inviting them were ok whiles childhood friends got the opportunity to tease me by sharing the picture with a caption "the stolen bride"

SAM_0306.JPG

That's the bride and the groom with some family members

In all I learnt something great from this experience that really helped me to have a different view about life. No one has ever graduated from the school of life. We all learn from everyday experiences and I guess this was of the reasons I thought of marriage to be something good and important.

HERE IS WHAT THIS EXPERIENCE THOUGHT ME:

People will always have different opinions about you

I have always tried my best to do what I think is best. People will have a different opinions about what you do. There are people who are negative and see only wrong side of anything you do. I saw different messages when I posted the picture, some who were so happy to see me married whether they were there or not and others who will not even ask for clarifications before drawing their conclusions. Such is life, people will always have different opinions about you so cease the habit of always trying to let everybody understand you.

You cannot please everybody

"But what will other people think?" What if they dislike the changes I make? What if they criticize what I say or do? What if they make fun of I believe? These are question a person trying to please everybody always bother himself with. It took sometime before friends who would not accept any explanation found out the truth. What more could I possibly do to convince them when they have already accepted and believed the false to be true. You cannot predict how people will interpret your actions or will react to what you do so just be yourself and do what you think is right and gives you the joy.

It is good to marry

There are special accolades given to people who are married. Many people see people who are married to be very responsible and matured. Honestly this experience made me understand the essence of choosing one out of the numerous. We cannot have all men or women, we are suppose to choose one. Every person you meet is special and depends on the kind of eye you have to know this. Friends who use to give nasty comments were now careful with their choice of words. In your own opinion what do you think God values? I will tell you mine... God values marriage likewise our society. I learnt that people always give honour to people who marry and marry well. There should be a time in your life when you should chose one and settle down with one. I think that's what makes you a real man or woman.

We don't just go through experiences for nothing but we always learn from it, I hope you have learnt something today?

Sort:  

Marriage comes with a lot of blessings

Whoever finds a wife, finds a good thing and receives favour from God, that's what the bible says.. thanks @richforever

Well said bro

Indeed you cannot please everyone. This is a fact of life. Thanks man @collinz.

you welcome

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

The blessing from marriage is just immeasurable

Resteemed upvoted

People do tend to make mistakes when they looked at a photo without checking its authencity, and I was one of the people. I saw my friends photo uploaded by another friend, wearing a suit and a lady wearing a brides gown. Immediately I congratulated him without knowing that the lady was actually his sister. It was his fault though, he never showed me the picture of his sister. 😂😂

You cannot predict how people will interpret your actions or will react to what you do so just be yourself and do what you think is right and gives you the joy.

Yet subconsciously good people do this all the time. Try not to insult someone or disrespect them and therefore we go out of our ways to appease them. Yet shorthand ourselves.

Life is definitely full of experiences. I just learned not to post pictures of me with other people especially other women. I am avoiding any confusion what so over ;) Thanks.

Just maybe they were happy that you got married.

Marriage is a beautiful thing!

yes it is