Adventure Update: WE MADE IT TO LE DESERT!!!

in #story6 years ago

Hello my favorite adventure Steemit peepers! This is Echo Cadence giving you an adventure update about Mr. Lover Boy's and I move to Arizona~

We spent all week two weeks ago packing up the apartment, moving everything into boxes, and deciding which things we wanted to keep, throw away, donate, ect. While it felt like we gave a ton of things away, we were surprised... er, no, horrified seems to fit better, we were horrified to see that we still had a ton of things that still needed to be packed or tossed the day we were set to leave for Arizona.

We intended to leave San Antonio by 3 p.m.; heheheheh, we left at 5:30 p.m. due to unexpected packing and cleaning... But hey, we did it!

Okay, so time for some real talk here guys. From San Antonio to Sheffield, Texas is a really smooth drive, but take my advice; even if your gas tank says that it's half full, STOP in Sheffield AND GAS UP!

I thought that I was sooooo smart by mapping out my trip months before hand and thought that the only trek of the journey I needed to be concerned about was the empty space between Fort Stockton to Van Horn for there is hardly anything out there between those two cities. However, I did not expect there to also be nothing between Sheffield and Van Horn.

Once more to my horror, I was not only running on fumes, but was also trying to not fly off into the mountains due to the extreme wind on the rickety road. Thankfully, Google maps saved my pretty booty and sent me off to Iraan, a very minute town hidden down a dirt road in one of the western Texan mountains. God bless you gas station in Iraan.

I'll save you the rest of our trek to the desert, but it took us about 16 hours to make it to our destination; we were on the road from 5:30 p.m. to 9:30 a.m, not counting the time change when we hit the Mountain Time Zone. Word to the wise, 5 Hour Energy drinks, canned Starbucks Shots, and jerkey will be your best friend if you ever have to drive that kind of distance in one sitting.

It was a long and tiring journey, but we finally made it to our new home! Check it out!

We actually have a garage to do activities in! Can you say evil workshop? MWHAHAAHAHA!
Our oven is actually purple. Do you know how awesome that is? XD

The best part about this house is that we actually have a lemon tree! Totally badass.


I think even our babies are enjoying the house too~

We haven't been here very long, but I don't think that I can ever get over the gorgeous views of the mountains. Coming from a girl who has grown up seeing nothing but fields and flat lands, this is incredible!

Although Mr. Lover Boy and I have been busy as a bee unpacking and trying to make our home an actual home, we have been able to go on a few amazing adventures and found some really cool things! Like this really cool sculpture on a walking trail that's literally a five minute walk away from our house:

This past weekend, Lover Boy and I went on an adventure with our furry children to this trail dubbed as the Bunny Trail. It was a ton of fun, but the bunnies were kinda freaky.




The desert is beautiful, my friends, and I can't get over how friendly the people are here! I know that Texas is known to be the "Friendly State", but quite frankly I believe that that title belongs to Arizona. Everyone is super nice here!

To end this post, let me apologize for not posting this bit sooner. As stated, I've been busy trying to get our house to feeling homey and what not. :) And here is a parting picture of a sunset in the desert~

Stayed tuned!

Image Source:
https://www.redbubble.com/people/larkdesigns/works/26086294-cute-kawaii-cactus-emoji?p=sticker
https://google.com/maps
http://www.fanpop.com/clubs/blush-nosebleed/images/21032604/title/yui-screencap

Sort:  

Awww. That's great you have a new place. :D

And anything purple is ♥.

Thank you @artgirl ! I agree with that statement! :)

Congratulations @echocadence! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @echocadence! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!