She said yes! The story of an engagement ring.

in #story6 years ago

A little over a month ago she said yes. If you don’t know us, @elteamgordo is a couple of foodies sharing their love for food. We’ve been dating for a really, really long time and now we’re engaged and we will get married this year. So this is the story of how it happened.

anillo.jpg

The Ring

We both know we want to get married, we have talked about it, we have prepared for that recently but there must be a ring. And i knew she doesn’t want a big diamond ring, once she told me she like emeralds and her Pinterest was full of emerald rings, so it was clear to me. I needed an emerald ring.

PRO MAN TIP: If you want to know what she really likes, check her pinterest. Women are crazy about Pinterest. Can’t figure it out why, but its a fact.

pin.jpg
A screenshot of her Pinterest.

And so the search began 6 moths ago. I was in no rush so i decided whenever I stumble upon a jewelry I’ll get inside and ask for an emerald ring. This was going to be easy, I thought. Find it, pay it & propose, easy peasy.

One day I found myself alone in front of a jewelry inside a mall, and it was weird. I had a combination of feelings kind of exited and nervous at the same time. So I got myself in and I was looking at the showcases searching for an emerald ring. Clocks, earrings, necklaces, diamonds but no emerald section. I came out and I did not die in the attempt, so it was a good start.

Next week same thing. I went into a mall and search in the jewelry stores with the same result, no emerald rings. Maybe i need to go to a specialized jewelry store? I thought. So i went and I started looking everywhere i go, north, south and center of the city with no luck.

Finally in one store an employee approached me and ask what I was looking for? Oh! I forgot to tell you I’m a man, so I would do anything in my power to find that ring but asking for it. Then I explained to her : “I’m looking for an emerald engagement ring”. That’s a hard one, she said, and showed me some of the stuff in her store. But nothing nothing remotely close to what I was looking for. They had emeralds, but they were too small or combined with other stones. So I thanked her and left. Good luck with that! She said.

Then I started asking in all the stores for that emerald ring and quickly learned that here in México they do not sell emeralds because people simply do not ask for them. Everywhere i asked for the ring people just look at me like if I ask for a pokemon in a pet store. It was really frustrating.

Then someone suggested me to go to “El Monte de Piedad”, a big traditional pawn shop in México that has a large store in the center of the city, and search for a piece of jewelry with a emerald no matter if it’s a necklace or earrings and then send it to a jeweler to make the ring. So i went, with no luck at all. They had emeralds but with an oval cut and very opaque and i was searching for an emerald with an emerald cut. Perhaps I was asking for too much.

The days passed and by November I was really nervous. I thought I would not find it. It occurred to me to contact a jewelry designer that usually sell in small design bazaars. And she said yes i can help you, i can get you that emerald Stone. That day i saw a very blue sky and the sunlight felt warmer, i was relieved. But then, a couple of days later the approximate price came an she wanted an small fortune for the ring.

I was shocked, i didn’t expect that. Although it probably was worth it, I could not pay for that. Then frustration became anger. And immediately I went to the center of the city to a zone known for its jewelry stores and start asking one by one for my impossible ring. And again bad results, until one lady said Why don’t you buy the Stone? And she told me where to look for it. The store was close, so I immediately headout and look for that store.

centro.jpg
This is Madero street in downtown. Its full of jewellery stores.

When arrived a lady showed me a lot of stones, but they were to big or to little for a ring. I found one, but it was an oval cut and I thought “Well it’s close enough”. I asked for it but it was a cash only store so I had to go back to the next day with all the money. I asked them for a trustworthy jeweler that could do the ring and they recommended me one.

I went in search of the jeweler because I was convinced that would be my best option. But before I got to the store I stumble upon a tiny, not so good loking jewelry and the owner asked me for a chance. Just tell me what are you looking for, maybe i can help you, he said. And I explain to him I was looking for an emerald engagement ring with an emerald cut, and he put infront of my eyes for the first time in my life a beautiful emerald with an emerald cut. I could’t believe it and he told me that he could make the ring too. So we closed the deal. I was happy and i was told that in a week I would receive the ring.

December began and i came up with an awesome idea. We know each other from the university, and almost every year we meet with our best friends from school for a Christmas dinner. The dinner would be on the 17th so I had time to prepare the proposal. We also do a gift exchange and coincidentally I had to give a present to my girlfriend.

It was perfect! I decided I would propose in the gift exchange. I didn’t plan it, it just happened.

A week went by and I called to the store and they told me the ring wasn’t ready, that they need a couple of days more. I had time so I did not worry much. The dinner was on December 17 and they promised I’ll have the ring by the 12.

I called the 12 and they said it wasn`t ready. That they had problems mounting the stone. They were sorry and told me to call the next day. The next day I was told the ring would be ready for sure by friday 15 that i just need to go for the ring after 5 pm.

I went to the store at 5. Ring wasn’t ready and wait for an hour. After that, the jeweler came and told me it was not posible because the Stone was too complex and they couldn’t find a way. And they swore to me that I would be ready the next day.

At this point I couldn’t get mad anymore, i found hilarious the complexity of the task. It was surreal. The next day I couldn’t get the ring because it was saturday and she was going to find out. So i asked my parents to pick up the ring on sunday, just a few hours before the dinner.

On sunday i was working on the dinner and cleaning the house with my, I hoped, soon to be fiance. By 1 pm y got the call from my parents. They had the ring and they were on their way to deliver it to me. But had a lot of work to do for the party so i focused on that.

My parents arrived and they just told me that the package was upstairs and then they left. My girldfriend and I continue working for the dinner and then the first guests arrived. They were early but we're friends for many years so it didn’t matter.

The dinner

I escaped to take a bath and to finally be able to see the ring. I would deliver it in a few hours and I had not seen it yet. The ring was in a wooden box, it was staring at me but I didn’t have time to lose, so i closed the box and went down to see my guests.

Everyone already gathered, we had dinner. The menu was informal but very varied, it conteined: BBQ ribs, Fish & Chips & Pumpkin Flowers (mexican ingredient), a Mushroom Pay, Coconut Rice and some veggies. And Glühwein as our drinking choise. So it was an eclectic menú.

comida.jpg

I had to chill the champagne without anyone noticing so I grabbed a bucket, filled it with ice and hid it with the champagne. The gift Exchange was about to began. A friend had to go, so she received her gift first and then it was her turn. Obviously she had to give me her gift, and i wasn’t ready. Then I remembered that I didn’t even wrap my gift! I received mine and ran upstairs, putt he ring in my pocket, drop the gift in a paper bag with a bridal garter (or band, don’t know if this tradition exists outside México) and got back to the party.

A bridal garter or band it’s a band that brides wear in her wedding. Tradition says that the groom has to throw the band to a group of single men. Whoever wins will be the next to get married. Well the last wedding we went, i won that thing not even two months before this party. Do you believe destiny? Now I do.

She thought that I was going to give the gift to another friend, she even helped me buy it! So I gave her the gift but nobody knew there was a ring inside. She took out her gift, it was a big scarf that she chose herself ha ha! But little did she know there was something more inside. So I said there’s more in the bag! And she took out the bridal garter with a WTF face.

No way! Everyone phones out! I Heard. I waited a minute so everyone could take video, I approached her, I got on one knee, took out the ring and dropped question.

¿Te quieres casar conmigo? That’s spanish for will you marry me? We’re mexicans so we speak spanish. Then she cried, I kept the ring (don’t know why), we hugged and she said yes.

hand.jpg

A few minutes later I officially gave her the ring and que pop up the champagne.

I leave you with a gif of the proposal.

5.gif


We are @elteamgordo, thanks for Reading.
.
.
You also can follow us in Facebook & Instagram

Saludos!!

gordoabajo.png

Sort:  

Congratulations!! :D

Thanks man! Really apreciate you take the time to comment in here. And so generous!! Wow!

Tears in my eyes!!!

Congrats sweethearts

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

If I remember correctly, I check with you if this was a good o stupid idea on discord. So thanks! It turns out you were right!!

Yeah you did :) hehe

Las buenas cosas se hacen esperar. No debemos desmayar cuando realmente algo nos mueve el interés. El amor lo puede todo. felicitaciones a ambos.

Gotta love diamonds!!!!!!

congratulations my friend!

Thank you, you're always so kind! :)

Wow! That is a beautiful beautiful story! And the way you have narrated it makes me feel as if you you were talking to me. Your fiance definitely has a great choice. The ring turned out stunning!

And that thing about Pinterest and women is true. It's like Google search for us. Hahahaha

Thank you! I'm really proud of the ring because well we(man) are stupid ha ha. So the entire time i didn't really knew if it was cool or not.

Increíble historia para conseguir ese anillo de los sueños de su amada. Tanto esfuerzo por complacerla habla del amor real y de que eres una persona detallista. Manténgalo siempre así! Felicitaciones por su compromiso.

Trataré! En realidad ni me di cuenta de todo lo que hice hasta después de entregado el anillo. Así que si en verdad te importa, no te pesa es esfuerzo. Gracias!!

Awesome @elteamgordo, wishing you both the very best!

Thanks for the support and good wishes!

Once more congrats !!!
LOVE the ring !!!
True about Pinterest although me personally don't have my favorite ring there so...... ;)))
I'm wishing you a lifetime of happiness guys!!! <3 <3 <3 Lots of love!

I knew i was right about the proposal when you told me: "tears already" so thanks for that. And i wish you a lifetime full of exercise, out of the gym of course. :)

Yessss that's the spirit !!!! (and a nice ring too... I wouldn't say no to xD )
I still remember - one of the most emotional moments of mine on steemit when you told me! :D <3 You're very welcome!!!

Beautiful! May you have a blessed married life!

Upvoted and followed!

Thanks! I hope you also have a blessed life!

Congrats! That is such an amazing story! Hope to see soon your wedding photos❤️

You will! Thanks for reading!!

Felicidades!! Qué Alegría!

Tenía que suceder algun dia no??

Whoa congrats!!

Thanks man! Very appreciated.

Que bonita historia. Mis mejores deseos a ambos, los espera una vida llena de felicidad y amor. Un abrazo!!

Muchas gracias!! Saludos!!

Muchas felicidad a ambos!!!

Un saludo desde Hidalgo.

😬👍

Saludos amigo! Y ya no corras en esos cerros solitarios. Siento que un dia te va a salir alguien con un machete ja ja!

awwwww....when you get on yr knees, i bet you're thinking, "finally i did it"
can't imagine how much u need to go through for a ring, let me tell then, it is worth it to go the extra mile for your future wife. I hope you both stay happily ever after...(that gif is the sweetest thing ever)
Sending love from China,💖
Reena.k

Ha ha I cant remember what was i thinking, maybe let's do this! And yes it was quite a journey. Thank you for your kind comment i can feel the love in it :)

Congratulations sir... Have a beautiful life ahead together.

Creo que es la primera vez que me emociono tanto con un post, me gustó hasta el suspenso por hacerte del anillo. ¡Muchas felicidades a ambos! :D

Gracias!! Saludos!!

What a struggle that was to find just the perfect engagement ring! But all your effort was worth it, congratulations! I wish you both all the happiness!

It was definitely worth it. I wish u happiness too!

Wow... nice story follow and upvote... please follow back... thanks...

Her reaction must be totally worth the effort you went through for the ring, congratulations!

I got the YES, so it was worth it. Thanks!!

Congrats. It is a beautiful ring. A good story for your kids oneday.👍💝

Yeah! Someday i will tell them.

Omg! This is such a happy and wonderful story! 💚 Congratulations guys!! :)

Thanks! I like your blog btw.

Thank you so much, I feel honoured :)

All women dream of that. congratulations for both!

i was moved by your story , congratulations to you , my friends.

Thanks! I'm glad you like it.

woooow, sin duda alguna.. Un claro ejemplo de amor, compromiso y felicidad!!

Mis mejores deseos y que el amor prevalezca en ésta y otras vidas, por que lo merecen..

¡Felicidades mi team favorito! Aunque no me pelen!! Jajajaja

Gran inicio <3

No te pelamos??? De cuando para aca??? Si te seguimos y todo. Quizas no me han salido tus posts. Me doy una vuelta. Saludos!!

Awwwww 💗💗💗💗

Amazing. Congratulations!

congratulation excelent...

amazing pictures and art, please post me too yes

Jajajajaja que este post perdure para la eternidad y de testimonio de todo ese proceso. Felicidades y que sean felices. Saludos

Pues al pasar los 7 días de publicación se quedará en el blockchain por siempre. Muchas gracias! Saludos!!

Saya sangat menyukai posting anda. # @elteamgordo
Kalo ada waktu silahkan kunjungi blog saya terimakasih
https://steemit.com/latest/@cutminajn/xpander-specifications-fcd10503a8c0b