You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your Mental Immune System, Shtisel, & Ephemera Full Cover Spread!

in #story3 years ago

Thank you! I'm very happy with it. It's been a challenge to get the publisher to accept the cover, the software they use keeps falsely flagging the splashes on cover image as crop marks. Hopefully we can get that resolved soon.

The article is hilarious. It reminds me of Peter Schiff's Twitter feed. He's continuously crapping on cryptocurrency due to the fact his business and reputation are so intertwined with stocks and precious metals. His Twitter feed is pure gold. : )

Sort:  

It always makes me wonder how people can fall hook line and sinker for it. My 74 year old Dad will spout that stuff, and I literally can tell what article he's read! 'Dad,' I'll say 'have you thought about it this way?' and he'll listen and be fairly open minded and intelligent, but STILL he falls for the mainstream media's viewpoint! Lol. The Betoota Advocate is brilliant satire - very Australian in many ways, but still quite a few good observations on human behaviour and our foibles.

Good luck with the design - it's very clean! Love it.

I think it's mainly the noobs who fall for the FUD. There's a new crop of them all the time so it's been pretty effective up to this point. This will stop being as effective the more mainstream crypto becomes. I think most people's brains lose some of their plasticity over time as they age as well so new concepts are more difficult to grasp. I'm glad I learned about crypto before I got to that point. Lol.

I'll have to check out more of the Advocate's stuff. I love that kind of thing. Have you ever read The Onion?

Thank you! I'm very happy with the cover. I always get a bit nervous before a book launch. It's so tough these days to market self-published books. There was a golden age (2008-2014) where it was easy to get organic outreach on social media but that's not the case anymore. You have to pay for engagement and it's not cheap. Hopefully the bitcoin easter egg in this one will drum up some interest and doesn't come off as too gimmicky.