Introducing Sid (our resident sloth)

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Introducing Sid...

Sid.jpg

... Our rather handsome resident sloth.

(and one of my best friends)

Sid likes to hang out in the tree by our greenhouse...

Hangin Sid.jpg

... Quite literally hang.

And when he's not hanging or sleeping, Sid likes to eat the leaves from the cercopia tree. Also known as a "trumpet tree" or "guarumo".

If you ever find yourself animal spotting in the jungle, these are the trees to look out for

As they're always prime location for animals like sloths, toucans or hawks. Recognisable by their distinctly shaped leaves

Cecropia-obtusifolia-Guarumo-leaves-salama-maya-ethnobotany-images.jpg

Did I mention Sid loves a good pose during his morning close ups?

Poser sid.jpg

And makes for an excellent photo every time...

14067900_1096659720423193_2829783096451970401_o.jpg

Sid is hoping he inspires you to slow down and take inspiration from his "Eat, Sleep, Repeat" mantra today, refuelling your energy, ready to start a brand new week.

Wishing you all a lazy Sunday :-)

Sort:  

a really beautiful "pet"! (Don't say to him I called him "pet"! :D)

Nice to meet Sid!

Love me some sloths! I have not seen any in our new neighborhood yet but we used to see two-toed sloths.

Sid looks easy to hang with... diggin the Sid

This is a cool one! I also like mantras :)

Sid has a certain smugness about him. He is doing what he wants, when he wants and he shows it to the world with that smirk LOL. Hes lovely and I followed :)

Welcome to Steemit! Feel free to tag one of your posts a day with the wantwiserupvote tag so I can see it :) Details here.

Sid's cool and you are also. Great photos.
I wish to comment on your recent post, although old enough to lack a reply button, I'll respond here. The time lapse video is the one. I'm a musician and love networking creativity, and also being inspired by Steve Lawson, solo bassist. He recently did a show with artist and jeweler Poppy Porter. Steve played,Poppy drew. Similar to you, using music for flow, only done live. Inspirational for me and maybe for you as well. Here are 2 links: http://www.stevelawson.net/2016/05/first-look-illuminated-loops-project-with-poppy-porter/ and 2: on youtube Poppy Porter - Innovate Guildford
You are an amazing artist. Perhaps you have a live 'flow' too. following

Seriously in love with these photos~