Weary and Frustrated!

in #story8 years ago

Sharing my life story is hard emotionally.

It all began in 2012, someone I knew was writing a story, for the last 20 years and kept saying they were going to finish it. 

I thought to myself, you know, you have lived a colorful life, maybe I should write a book about it?

So I sat down, took a trip down memory lane and started writing. 

Took me 2 weeks and so many people trying to help me edit it, a year later I was done. Too much work and thought about what others would start thinking about me after reading it. So it was shelved. 

Steemit came along and someone said, Go for it, publish on there and see how well it goes. Try to get feedback on your story and your style of writing. After pondering it for a month, I figure what the heck. no one on here knows who I am, what can it hurt and hopefully will get some good feedback.

Fast forward 5 Chapters, almost no feedback. Few followers staying tuned in to read more. So I took a step back, lets see if ANYONE will contact me and ask why I have not been blogging more of the book. Nothing, not a word. I felt let down, thinking that my book was not interesting enough for people to want to read more. 

It has been a week since my last blog and am unsure I am going to continue blogging it. 

I would feel better if I was getting any critisism or feedback. I started another book and it would have been helpful to hear what I may be doing wrong or write. 

Finding myself very conflicted about whether to continue it or not.

Any feed back on this subject would be helpful, kind of gotten tired of the upvotes by those only hoping to make money. I am genuinely looking for guidance with this issue. 

Thanks in advance. 

Sort:  

Its the age old thing, people don't like commitment. I have not been reading your book but as an author myself; I haven't put my book here because I feel you need a loyal following first. And that takes time - I feel its not the content, its the readership. They are not ready to commit.

Thank you Linzo for your comments. Very much appreciate it. The question is how to go about getting a following when you don't know how to reach people. Any suggestions?