An Adventure To York In The Beetles!!! [Pictures And Story Inside]

in #story7 years ago

Good evening my fellow Steemians!

Today me and my fiancee in our Baja Beetle and my mum and dad in their Beetle went for a trip to the historical city of York in Yorkshire United Kingdom.

Our journey started like most old cars and that is at the petrol station where we had to both fill up on fuel to ensure that we both made it without having to try and find another service station or petrol station. We both then set off in high spirits to fill our bellies at McDonald's having burgers and fries to top ourselves up for what could be an interesting journey!

So, the journey begins we get on the motorway and start the convoy with my dad in his beetle at the front, me in my Baja in the middle and my brother in his BMW at the rear watching over us cruising at around 60-65 mph. I was hoping that my car would be okay on the journey because it is not the most reliable vehicle in the world and enjoys a good break down every now and then, but so far so good. At the first exit my brother leaves for home and leaves us two bugs on our own against the world, we soon switch to back roads and i feel more at home in the 70's car and cruise some more. We pulled over for a few minutes just to make sure that my bug was running smoothly and not loosing to much oil haha ;)

We eventually make it to the outskirts of York and i can start to see the great historical buildings in the distance and i look forward to going and seeing all of these during the trip. We find a car park and park up the parking rate almost made me collapse, but we had to park and it was right next to the old city walls which overlooked our cars.

Here are some pictures of our trip I hope you enjoy them!
(My fiancee took the photos in the car, just in case you wondered I was driving)

IMG_7331.JPGIMG_7343.JPGIMG_7342.JPGIMG_7341.JPGIMG_7344.JPGIMG_7345.JPGIMG_7346.JPG

Steem on!!!

Sort:  

hahaha
I can also relate to cars breaking down, because they tend to break down alot when we want them "Not to break down" :P

on the side note I like the pictures, also your pics as a couple looks super cute................ but now I fell in love with your dads car. I looks elegant :)

what I really like about old cars is that I feel that each and every car was custum made, unlike cars now adays that the car manufacturers say. "Take this part of this car. Take that part of that car. Mix them all up!!........ and walaaaaa we made a new car" they didnt made cars like that. I love the chrome platting on old cars usually :)

I lived in York during my formative years. It's a great city to visit. What did you manage to see?

Walked around the city walls, saw the ministry, went to the shambles, walked past the shop that must not be named looked very busy, war memorial and went to the bakery that sells amazing sausage rolls and meringues as big as my head :P

Nice story, thanks for sharing !
I found your post on my daily story top list and strongly believe your post is undervalued, so I upvoted and resteemed your post ! All the best !!

Lovely story and nice pics
Thanks for sharing
Keep the good work

Thank you so much 😊
I'm glad you enjoyed my post more to come Steem on!

Really story and nice photography. thanks for your posting.
100% like and resteem

Good work. it is happy life and story. beautiful pic.

Beautiful car with bright yellow and black color! Nice trip! ;)