Jose Canseco and me (and my quest for a follow back on twitter)

in #story8 years ago

Jose Canseco and me. (And my quest for a follow back on Twitter)

Nearly 30 years ago, Jose Canseco was my favorite baseball player. First in the 40 40 club (stolen bases and homers), Bash Brother, and epic slugger. It probably helped that he played for the home team :)

During the peak of his baseball career, I begged my parents to allow me in the Jose Canseco baseball camp, because part of the camp was a promise to get to meet him.

I wasn't very good at baseball, or sports in general. Sure I was a huge fan, and had a huge collection of baseball cards, but that sure didn't mean I could catch or hit a ball.

Back then, like now, I was better at collecting things I thought would be more valuable, or at least maintain their value for the future. Thats right, I've been an investor since I was 8 or 9, maybe even before then.

Fast forward a few decades and Jose Canseco and I would meet again, through the help of technology and social media. Not only that, but that we had something in common.

We are both sound money advocates, and understand that GOLD is the only actual form of real money.

Somehow, I had to break this news to Jose. After almost 30 years, we have a lot to talk about.

I want to tell Jose something specific about Gold, but to do this I need him to follow me on Twitter, so I can send him a Direct Message.

How would I do this?

Suddenly it occurred to me....

I knew I had a picture of Jose and me somewhere. If I could show him, perhaps he would remember we were buddies and follow me!

The problem was I had NO idea where.

So began my epic journey.

I spent months tossing my room, digging into my garage, going over the same plastic bins a million times.

I reorganized my closet, my filing cabinets, even dug up those old baseball cards i had when I was 10.

I was very close to giving up.

Last week was very emotional, leaving my job of 20 years, for a very unique and exciting opportunity I couldn't not pass up.

One last try I thought, and whispered to myself "Once more into the breach."

I found some very interesting and sentimental items on my frantic last ditch effort today.

I found,

a silver chain (like silver almost as much as gold)

a gold certificate

An old invitation to a graduation party for my wife (from before we were even dating)

A photo of an dear friend who has since passed away.

After unearthing these treasures, and a long emotional and reflective journey, there was one more surprise.

Sitting in a bin I had gone through maybe a dozen times already, there it was.

Jose and Me.

Now I just need him to see this, and hope my efforts get a follow back.

There are lots of things to discuss.

:)

Sort:  

re-steemed ! happy to help you out this time :)

Thank you SO much:)

this is the least I could do for you!

Really great. I hope you succeed and get him to follow you back. Best of luck.

I saw him leaving a party I was entering one time. A woman on each arm as valet pulled up the car.

He's a popular guy :)

Ah! I ReSteemed your post before I saw that he'd followed you. Well done!

Thank you so much! It happened quicker than i thought possibly thanks to all the find folks on @steemit :)

Wonderful story @goldmatters . I thank you for sharing your experiences.

Thank you! I cant believe it worked!

What do you have to tell him a DM about gold? Also, gold is not the only "real" money. There are reasons why gold back currencies are good but fiat currencies also have a positive impact. The issue with the USD is not that it is a fiat currency. The problem is that it is abused causing inflation, which is a tax on holding the currency. Its not good to hold USD because the high inflation makes it costly to hold.

In contrast Gold is deflationary. However, lots of currencies are deflationary and you can hold lots of things that will not reduce in value like USD will. Owning anything that doesn't lose value over time is better than holding USD.