my philosophy

in #story6 years ago

I am not wealthy, not yet.20170914_173826.jpg Money is still a problem for me, I get worked up thinking bout some expenses id have to make. I cut down on stuff cos I cant afford them. I haven’t seen black panther yet cos I insist on seeing it in the cinema, but it’s still quite expensive so I’m waiting till it drops to the regular price.
Yup I’m broke. During the weekend, I decided to clean up my place, get rid of things I wasn’t using anymore. There were cloths, a lot of cloths, had some pairs of shoes to dispose as well among others. So when I was done packing the thrash, I put them outside, to dispose later.
There was this guy, a bike(okada) rider, dropped someone in the compound, saw the thrash out there and decided to check it out. Right in front of me, he tried on the shoes, picked up some cloths I deemed useless. His face lit up, like it was charismas for him. He picked stuff up, enough to fill up a big traveling bag.
At that moment, I felt grateful for what I had, my financial status I always felt down about was way better than his, yet, he smiled. He was so happy leaving with all that stuff. He helped burn the rest of the thrash, of which I’m appreciative.
I was on a trip home from school sometime last year, while in traffic, I saw about 3 teenage Hausa boys, sitting with the cattle in a truck. That was an extremely uncomfortable position I can never find myself in, yet they all had the biggest smiles on their faces.
I cannot begin to phantom the source of their joy but its deep. I always have food but I’m unhappy because of trivial things? I have come to a point of realization, my joy has nothing to do with how much I have, I should find my inner peace and joy and remain happy.
Well, easier said than done, cos if I find someone who makes me happy, id become sad cos I can’t give her everything she wants. Back to my money problem again! So I guess I should leave joy and happiness and just focus on making the money… cos it seems inevitable, no money… no joy. That’s my philosophy, so I’m working towards a solution.