Tanka

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Narukami no sukoshi toyomite

(A faint clap of thunder)

Sashi kumori

(Clouded skies)

Ame mo furanu ka?

(Perhaps rain comes)

(If so, will you stay here with me?)

raining.gif

The clear scent of wet grass filled my lungs with the subtle reminder that April had given way to the first day of the rainy season, and I was on the way to class when the skies let out a light drizzle. The park I journeyed through on my way to school was beautiful during the day, but even more so with all of the puddled reflections glistening amongst the cobblestone. As I passed through a tunnel created by an overhang of oak and willow trees, I came across a small alcove in the clearing along the path.

they-met.jpg

A raised wooden platform accompanied by a corner bench was shielded from the rainfall by a roof in the style of a Japanese pagoda. Beneath its safety was a girl, minding her own business under the comfort of a small sudoku booklet.

With no umbrella and no sign of better weather, I approached the platform to take the seat opposite her, and after sitting down, I leaned back to better take in the scenery.

I notice that the girl sitting across from me is very pretty. She is wearing an soft pink sweater resting on top of a white button up with a warm mahogany skirt cut slightly above the knees. Her dark brown eyes were hidden behind smooth, wavy black hair. She was huddled over her booklet, almost lost in her own world.

After a few seconds however, she notices me noticing her.

5004.gif

It was a one of those moments where you know for sure someone's looking at you, but you can't help but look back in return. We were transfixed in a staring contest that seemed to last forever. And after a while, I blinked first, and she smiled softly in return. Looking down, she scribbled something in her notebook.

Tilting my head back, I closed my eyes and slowly breathed in the rain.

Kotonoha-no-Niwa-BD-1280x720-AVC-AACx3-5.1-2.0-2.0-Subx3.mp4_snapshot_19.34_2013.06.03_19.26.01.jpg

She kind of reminded me of the scent of wet gravel on a misty schoolyard playground. Or the sensation of moist air when you open up the windows after a chilly night to see the sky. I really wanted to stay like this for a while, but at the same time I felt that if only I had the courage to say something, I might come closer to not feeling so alone next to another person.

I look at her again, only to find her locked into a genuine smile as she writes. After a bit she looks back at me only to keep scribbling in her notebook.

I smile too.

Sometimes the rain can bring out immense loneliness in all of us. But in reality, I think that we are all alike; no matter how alone you may feel in the company of others, the shared silence only serves to close the very distances between us. After a few minutes to myself I decided to just say the first thing that came to mind:

"You know, despite the inconvenience of waiting out bad weather, It sometimes leaves you with rainbows when it ends."

I paused for a bit, and after realizing what I said, I gave a kind of embarrassed smile and looked away.

And ironically, the skies above began to open up.

Beyond the parting clouds were thin rays of sunlight, shining down atop the trees, which seemed to glimmer with the light's reflection. I felt the warmth of the sun glow along the mirrored pathway. Kaleidoscopic colors danced along like fractals of broken light, flickering momentarily like rainbows amongst the drizzle.

BFxXtS5.jpg

But as I turned around there was no sign of the girl. She seemed to have taken off suddenly and without notice, and all that was left was a single page.

On it was a very detailed drawing, and it caught me by surprise because it was a drawing of me. In it, I'm tilting my head back to breathe in the rain. Behind me is a view of the city and in the distant above the clouds were retreating towards us. Below were some words.

It was a Japanese tanka-- A special type of poem written in the style of a haiku.

I got up to resume my morning walk.
Something tells me I'll be back soon.

Sky_Kotonoha_No_Niwa_The_455048.jpg

Narukami no sukoshi toyomite

(A faint clap of thunder)

furazu to mo

(Even if rain comes not)

warewa tomaramu

(I will stay here)

imoshi todomeba

(Together with you)