LIFE STORY: I did 286 days in PUNK PRISON for my litle brother! (Wish It Never Happened)

in #story7 years ago (edited)

PUNK PRISON IS NOT FUN!


Probably what I looked like at the time!

It was about 13 years ago now, maybe 2:30 AM Sunday. I remember my heart pounding and the sound of a crash.

I will never forget this night, it started with my younger brother (14 Yrs Old) and his friends joking in the basement talking about the movie Gone In 60 Seconds and how crazy it was and you rally got to be a professional to pull off some of they thefts we saw in the film.



Was just boys having fun shooting the "shit" with buddies you know having fun. well that was until one of his friends "David" says, Dude they just built car dealership down the road from us, I bet is people wanted to take cars that would be the best place to START!



Now keep in mind this whole time I was just sitting down watching TV ("All That" Was On), but I was occasionally listening to what they were talking about just being the a big brother!
I kind of stopped paying attention after his friends were laughing at his buddy about his incredibly DUMB idea to mock the Movie and rob the Car Dealership down the road.


A few moments go by and I started to hear them say something that I really couldn't make out over the T.V. but the one thing I did hear nice and clear was, "So Are We Doing This?" I hear my brother and his friends agree on something and they get and head out side. I ran to the basement window and watched for a second, they all looked kind of nervous and I knew something was wrong. I ran outside and asked my little bro "Where You Going?" My brother said while biking away "Mind Your Damn Business Bro!" I was confused for a bit, he was getting older and a bit more SNOBBY but his response did throw me off a little bit.


Well with my gut instinct telling me "These Dumb Kids Are Gonna Rob The Dealership!" I started to wonder what I should do, Maybe i will go tell my MOM but she was sleeping it was late and oh man she was A MEAN LADY at night! So at the time the best option was just to go grab my bike catch up with my brother and his friends. The Dealership was not to far from the house but it was a nice distance even on a bike and I didn't want to get noticed so I decided to take the shortcut to the dealership along the woods and lake (Super Muddy Trails). When I got halfway shortcut I seen my brother and his friends bikes laying side by side in some bushes. I thought I seen my brother going the opposite way so I started to follow him, while I'm following far behind this person I believed is my brother. I hear a big crash, like someone just drove through a building! I begin to run through the trails and past the Homeless man I thought was my brother. I see the trail opening and side of the Newly Built car dealership, nothing looked bad so far. That was until I made it out of the woods and walked to the other side of the building were I see my brother on his knees holding his stomach and bleeding from his nose!


I FELT LIKE MY MOM!

I grabbed my brother by his shirt and yelled in his face "ARE YOU ALRIGHT!" he looked up and said he "Got The WIND Knocked Out Him" I said GOOD I helped him look for his shoe and helped him with his nose, his friends all were already long gone. I was so mad at him and couldn't believe his dumb friends would do something like this, I told him to go to the bikes and I was gonna look for his shoe. When my brother got into the woods I turned around and went to grab his shoe I seen it was in the road on front of the Dealership.

Should Have Just Left The DAMN SHOE!


Before I could even take a step towards the road to grab my brothers shoe I hear "DON'T FUCKING MOVE" First thing that comes to mind is "NO I DIDN'T DO IT" but then the second part was "SHIT I don't want my little brother to get in trouble" I swear it was only a total of maybe 3 minutes from the crash and I did not know how the cops get there so fast! Well either way it didn't matter. Before I can try to even start saying some crazy lie about what was going on here the cops threw me to the ground and said "WERE IS THE GUN" ????? I didnt have no gun and why are they asking me this!?!?! Well I guess the cops just happened to be inside of the gas station down the road from the dealership and someone that just happened to see the crash ran inside the GAS STATION and said "Somebody Just Tried To Steal A Car From The Dealership And A Gun Flew Into The Middle Of The Road After They Crashed!" of course the gun was my brothers SHOE and man! Can you imaagine what would have happened if they found me while I was grabbing the "GUN SHOE" that would not have been good!

I take The Blame

Well after I explain there was no gun, and them later finding the shoe in the road. They began to ask me all kids of questions, I was scared and mad at the same time, I just wanted to go home. They told me I was never gonna see home again! This wasn't my first time getting into trouble. I was already on probation because I thought it was so cool to drink underage and go for drunk walks. at night past curfew, but anyways I tell the cops it was all me, there was nobody else. The cop says " We Know Your Lying And If You Want To Go To jail For Your Dirtbag Friends SO BE IT" They put me into the back seat of the car and I went to sleep (Cried Myself To Sleep) They wake me up and take me into the Juvenile Detention Center.

Spent 3 Months In Juvy Before Sentencing.


(No Good Memories Here!)

Court Date Arrives.

My probation officer and Lawyer (Public Attorney) present me a plea deal saying if I let them know who else was there and where they are at they will reduce my sentence from Grand Theft and Burglury to just Joy riding, and I would only do 90 days in a habitual Offenders Program (Kids That Dont Behave) Inside teh Juvy and I wont have to serve time in
MAXEY (Punk Prison)

(I DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE!) (ACTUAL PHOTO)
I walk into the court room and I see my Mother, Stepdad, Sisiter, and Brothers (Both Younger 14yrs and 6yrs). The judge looks at me and says.
"Mr. Joe Ortiz You Seem To Think This Is Some Type Of Game!?"
"I dont wanna even bother hearing what you have to say, you have uncooperative with your Mother (She Didnt Know The Truth and Still Dont), Probation Officer, and Law Enforcement. Due to your lack for respect for our system I have no choice but to make a example out of you and hopefully your brothers and sister learn to not follow in your foot steps. You have already served 90 days of Debt Time (Time Served Before Sentencing) So I cant give you the max, so according to your guidelines here. i am going to sentence you to 3 months of HORP (Habitual Offenders Rehab Program) then once program is finished you be transferred as a Ward of The State to Maxey Placement Center (Punk Prison) to server an additional 200 days in the Juvenile Rehab program"

The worst part.


I tried not to cry, i knew what was expected, but the worst part was saying good bye to my MOM and looking her in the eyes and saying "Im SORRY" I felt like I failed myself, Failed, My Family, Just a BIG FAILURE and I deserved every bit of it! I knew I could have just said IT WASNT ME IT WAS HIM! But I guess that's how much I loved my brother. He was still clean (Had No Criminal Record) and him getting involved in the system was the last thing I wanted for him. Before I left the court room back to my cell. I turned to my brother and said "I Love You Little Bro, take Care Of Mom" I left with my head down tears fighting my face.

I missed out on a great bit during my stay in the government hotel (Punk Prison) I kept in contact with my family and my brother was doing good, and staying away from his old friends. they would come to visit once in a while, like my Birthday. hated it when they had to leave but I knew what I had to do and I did my time the best I could. I learned a great amount from my counselors and I became a new person, got rid of my child alcoholism and it felt good to breath and think clearly. I know to some this might seem like a HORRIBLE story but please don't. yes the time was rough and the circumstances were not right. But if I didnt take the blame for my brother he could have turned out to be a completely different person then he is now. (Business Owner, Married, Kids, Owns a House.) Even though we never speak of it, I know he loves me and thanks me greatly for my actions that night. In the end it made me a better person as well as him, I made the choice I made and I accepted responsibility for that. The past is the past and all we can do is learn from our mistakes!

Its What Makes Some Of Us Better!

THIS STORY WAS NOMINATED!

Please vote Here If you feel it deserves to win!

Thanks For Your Time!

Upvote, Follow, Resteem, and Enjoy!

@justcallmemyth


Join PALnet and Get Informed: https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw
Proud-MEMBER-JUSTCALLMEMYTH.gif

Sort:  

This post received a 48% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @justcallmemyth! For more information, click here!

Nice work here!

Thank you!

Hi this story was currently NOMINATED for best story. Would you please be kind to give me your vote? Thank You!
You can Vote For Me Here Every Vote Counts!

That's a good example of perjuring yourself for a much more important outcome than the sacrifice you made- and you're probably right, your little brother may have taken a much worse turn had he taken the rap.
Spend a little more time in proofreading to make your post even more excellent- I'm becoming convinced a lot of bad translations may be due just to mis-spellings that change the word completely (other than the old your-yore-you're, too-two, do-due kind of thing). I know (I do it myself) you've spent a lot of time on this post, but mistakes creep in- but you can always catch more when you proof it yet another time. The Preview panel is definitely a huge help.

Thanks so much for the advice, yes I have been taking that into account! I can assure you I am working on it as well! Its hard sometimes I close my eyes and just type what I feel. The mistakes do happen to make it through!

There's no reason WHATSOEVER to restrict your process- just read through an extra time before you post with a viciously critical eye for detail. I'm dead serious with my criticism, without the slightest intent to troll (content could be a different matter, I'll go after a white supremacist with the longest knife I can find).
When STEEM takes over the world, I want us all to be Jedi against the Dark Side- keep up the fine work.

Yes I agree! thank you! Your advice helps Obi Wan Kanobi

I think I may have done a better job here: interested in your thoughts please.
https://steemit.com/story/@justcallmemyth/daddy-are-you-getting-old-are-you-gonna-die-she-was-waiting-for-a-answer

Hi this story was currently NOMINATED for best story. Would you please be kind to give me your vote? Thank You!
You can Vote For Me Here Every Vote Counts!

Ok, since it was 13 years ago. A) would you do it again looking back and B) Did he stay out of trouble after that? Good Luck I just notice that you wrote he turned out ok.

No I would not and Yes were NOT CRIMINALS anymore! lol!

Hi this story was currently NOMINATED for best story. Would you please be kind to give me your vote? Thank You!
You can Vote For Me Here Every Vote Counts!

@justcallmemyth, I find your story interesting!

Thank You! Glad you do! It was a crazy time in my life, Glad i could Finally Share it!

Good Luck! Hope you will be the winner. :)
Please follow my curation trail!

good story though :)

Hi this story was currently NOMINATED for best story. Would you please be kind to give me your vote? Thank You!
You can Vote For Me Here Every Vote Counts!

Great story... there's a verse in the Bible that starts out, "Greater love hath no man..." I think it fits here. Best of luck in the future...

Hi this story was currently NOMINATED for best story. Would you please be kind to give me your vote? Thank You!
You can Vote For Me Here Every Vote Counts!